Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow Sunday, May 31, 20150

Endangered Species Takes Another Critical Blow

What appears to be a fatal disease has wiped out a significant fraction of the Central Asian saiga
Plant of the Month Saturday, May 30, 20150

Plant of the Month

Gum trees are found throughout Australia from the tropics to the alpine. Many are very beautiful and very rare.
Drenching the Drought Thursday, May 28, 20150

Drenching the Drought

90% of Texas was in drought conditions in 2014, much of it extreme. In May 2015, the percentage of affected areas has fallen to 30% and it is...
Temperature Anomalies Wednesday, May 27, 20150

Temperature Anomalies

A temperature anomaly occurred this week when Alaska had higher temperatures than Texas.
Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Scientific Misconduct Is A Bigger Problem Than You Think

The recent dispute over a study published in Science is an occasion to look at the deeper problems in science publishing
Ocean Blooming Tuesday, May 26, 20150

Ocean Blooming

The "blooming" of algae in the North Atlantic offers hope for restoration of depleted fisheries.
Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants? Tuesday, May 19, 20150

Why Is It So Lame to Love Plants?

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense Monday, May 18, 20150

Maybe Leaving Earth Doesn't Make Sense

Is DNA the Soul? Sunday, May 17, 20150

Is DNA the Soul?

Is it possible to find meaning in a string of acids? 
The Turtles Return Monday, December 2, 20190

The Turtles Return

A mass turtle migration.

A Mongolian Lake Saturday, November 30, 20190

A Mongolian Lake

A Central Asian lake from space.

A Knowledge of Plants Friday, November 29, 20190

A Knowledge of Plants

A modern plant explorer.

My Life As A Turkey Thursday, November 28, 20190

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story.

Failing Grades Tuesday, November 26, 20190

Failing Grades

A climate change report card.

Where Does Creativity Come From? Sunday, November 24, 20190

Where Does Creativity Come From?

Creativity has a bit of magic.

Winning Isn't Everything Friday, November 22, 20190

Winning Isn't Everything

Ping-pong as life-lesson.

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Thursday, November 21, 20190

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Slither-bots created for Mars.

Europa's Water Monday, November 18, 20190

Europa's Water

Water vapor on a Jovian moon.

Koala Needing Rescue Saturday, November 16, 20190

Koala Needing Rescue

An injured animal hospital.

World Views Friday, November 15, 20190

World Views

The Earth in new perspectives.

If The Moon Was Another Planet? Thursday, November 14, 20190

If The Moon Was Another Planet?

If the moon were Saturn?

Mars Oxygen? Wednesday, November 13, 20190

Mars Oxygen?

Another Martian puzzle.

'Mandela's Gold' Tuesday, November 12, 20190

'Mandela's Gold'

A plant named for the human rights leader.

Master Huddlers Sunday, November 10, 20190

Master Huddlers

Penguins never cease to amaze.

Dam Down Friday, November 8, 20190

Dam Down

A 'deadbeat dam' comes down.

Re-photography Rules Thursday, November 7, 20190

Re-photography Rules

A poweful tool for visualizing change.

Low-cost Reforestation Wednesday, November 6, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.