Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The Catseye Saturday, May 31, 20140

The Catseye

The Catseye Nebulae is a celestial beauty three thousand light-years away.
Reefs 2, Miners 0 Thursday, May 29, 20140

Reefs 2, Miners 0

Turns out that placing a coal shipping facility near a world famous coral reef ecosystem isn't such a good idea.
Animating Ice Wednesday, May 28, 20140

Animating Ice

What would western Greenland look like without an ice cover?
Fire Rainbows Tuesday, May 27, 20140

Fire Rainbows

Fire Rainbows or are known for their odd appearance and unusual production requirements.
The Weight of Mountains Sunday, May 25, 20140

The Weight of Mountains

The processes that create and destroy mountains are fascinating. Iceland provides a dramatic landscape to see them.
How Rich is Bill Gates? Saturday, May 24, 20140

How Rich is Bill Gates?

One of the many reasons to love this man -- he makes me understand things. 
Half Empty or Half Full? Thursday, May 22, 20140

Half Empty or Half Full?

Lake Powell in Utah and Arizona is "running on empty", waterwise.
Supercells Wednesday, May 21, 20140


Supercell thunderstorms can produce extreme weather events. Watch out!
Floods & Arks Tuesday, May 20, 20140

Floods & Arks

In the children's fable, Noah built an ark to survive a flood of Biblical proportions. Noah may be needed again.

Animal Cams Sunday, March 11, 20180

Animal Cams

Real-time videos for wildlife management and conservation.

Plant of the Month Saturday, March 10, 20180

Plant of the Month

Pseudohydrosme gabunensis from Africa is Plant of the Month.

Connecting Country Thursday, March 8, 20180

Connecting Country

A win, win, win project.

Juno Delivers, Again! Tuesday, March 6, 20180

Juno Delivers, Again!

Viewing data from Juno's mission to Jupiter.

GOES-17 Launched Monday, March 5, 20180

GOES-17 Launched

GOES-17 goes into orbit.

Bombed Out Saturday, March 3, 20180

Bombed Out

Super-storm Riled bombs the East Coast.

Resilience Mapping Friday, March 2, 20180

Resilience Mapping

Preparing communities for climate change.

Tumbler in Paradise Wednesday, February 28, 20180

Tumbler in Paradise

Earthquakes driving geological and biological diversity.

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor Tuesday, February 27, 20180

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor

New discoveries on undersea mountains.


River Restoration and the Market Monday, February 26, 20180

River Restoration and the Market

River restoration is both economically and ecologically important.
Crossing Boundaries Sunday, February 25, 20180

Crossing Boundaries

Biodiversity boundaries are being crossed.

What is Invisible? Friday, February 23, 20180

What is Invisible?

How do  you deal with the invisible?

Wild Temperatures Thursday, February 22, 20180

Wild Temperatures

It's now above freezing in the Arctic winter.

Bobbing Boulders Wednesday, February 21, 20180

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Reverence Tuesday, February 20, 20180


A Sierra Nevada meditation.

Plant of the Month: Rhododendrons Monday, February 19, 20180

Plant of the Month: Rhododendrons

Rhodies are the 'plant of the month'.

Mud Flow Event Sunday, February 18, 20180

Mud Flow Event

The Grand Staircase can be both awesome and deadly.

Solar Trackers Friday, February 16, 20180

Solar Trackers

Sunflowers as solar tracking experts.