Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The Catseye Saturday, May 31, 20140

The Catseye

The Catseye Nebulae is a celestial beauty three thousand light-years away.
Reefs 2, Miners 0 Thursday, May 29, 20140

Reefs 2, Miners 0

Turns out that placing a coal shipping facility near a world famous coral reef ecosystem isn't such a good idea.
Fire Rainbows Tuesday, May 27, 20140

Fire Rainbows

Fire Rainbows or are known for their odd appearance and unusual production requirements.
How Rich is Bill Gates? Saturday, May 24, 20140

How Rich is Bill Gates?

One of the many reasons to love this man -- he makes me understand things. 
Half Empty or Half Full? Thursday, May 22, 20140

Half Empty or Half Full?

Lake Powell in Utah and Arizona is "running on empty", waterwise.
Supercells Wednesday, May 21, 20140

Supercells

Supercell thunderstorms can produce extreme weather events. Watch out!
Floods & Arks Tuesday, May 20, 20140

Floods & Arks

In the children's fable, Noah built an ark to survive a flood of Biblical proportions. Noah may be needed again.
In Sun-burnt Lands Sunday, May 18, 20140

In Sun-burnt Lands

Two of my favorite places, California and Australia, are experiencing some of their worst drought conditions ever.
Hitting a Bullseye Friday, May 16, 20140

Hitting a Bullseye

Like hitting a bullseye, meteors have revealed water ice occurs at shallow depths on Mars.
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.