Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography, Nepal Thursday, April 30, 20150

Re-photography, Nepal

Re-photography is a powerful tool for comparisons and is now being applied in Nepal.
Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else Wednesday, April 29, 20150

Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else

That's why it's a good thing he brought his anger translator, Luther. 
How Fragile is the Earth? Wednesday, April 29, 20150

How Fragile is the Earth?

It's easy to forget how thin our life-sustaining biosphere is. Here's a visualization. 
The Universe, as Hologram Tuesday, April 28, 20151

The Universe, as Hologram

Physicists continue to develop the idea that our universe is, at core, two dimensional
The Earth Shakes in Nepal Tuesday, April 28, 20150

The Earth Shakes in Nepal

The Earth shook in Nepal and the resulting destruction has been massive.
Optus: Whale Song Sunday, April 26, 20150

Optus: Whale Song

An attempt at cross-species communications with whales but no idea what they thought of the song.
Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations" Saturday, April 25, 20150

Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations"

The rapper Prince Ea has a few spoken words to offer about trees and future generations.
"Look to the Mountains" Friday, April 24, 20150

"Look to the Mountains"

A photographer, mountaineer, and environmental ambassador says: "look to the mountains".
Volcano Power Thursday, April 23, 20150

Volcano Power

A stunning display of raw volcanic power was captured on video.
OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.