Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography, Nepal Thursday, April 30, 20150

Re-photography, Nepal

Re-photography is a powerful tool for comparisons and is now being applied in Nepal.
Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else Wednesday, April 29, 20150

Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else

That's why it's a good thing he brought his anger translator, Luther. 
How Fragile is the Earth? Wednesday, April 29, 20150

How Fragile is the Earth?

It's easy to forget how thin our life-sustaining biosphere is. Here's a visualization. 
The Universe, as Hologram Tuesday, April 28, 20151

The Universe, as Hologram

Physicists continue to develop the idea that our universe is, at core, two dimensional
The Earth Shakes in Nepal Tuesday, April 28, 20150

The Earth Shakes in Nepal

The Earth shook in Nepal and the resulting destruction has been massive.
Optus: Whale Song Sunday, April 26, 20150

Optus: Whale Song

An attempt at cross-species communications with whales but no idea what they thought of the song.
"Look to the Mountains" Friday, April 24, 20150

"Look to the Mountains"

A photographer, mountaineer, and environmental ambassador says: "look to the mountains".
Volcano Power Thursday, April 23, 20150

Volcano Power

A stunning display of raw volcanic power was captured on video.
7 Earth Day Suggestions Wednesday, April 22, 20150

7 Earth Day Suggestions

Earth Day is today so here are 7 suggestions to celebrate the day, any day.
Bobbing Boulders Monday, July 8, 20190

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Plant Trees Sunday, July 7, 20190

Plant Trees

Planting tress as a climate change solution.

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics Friday, July 5, 20190

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics

Radiological research could have a solution.

On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.