Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography, Nepal Thursday, April 30, 20150

Re-photography, Nepal

Re-photography is a powerful tool for comparisons and is now being applied in Nepal.
Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else Wednesday, April 29, 20150

Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else

That's why it's a good thing he brought his anger translator, Luther. 
How Fragile is the Earth? Wednesday, April 29, 20150

How Fragile is the Earth?

It's easy to forget how thin our life-sustaining biosphere is. Here's a visualization. 
The Universe, as Hologram Tuesday, April 28, 20151

The Universe, as Hologram

Physicists continue to develop the idea that our universe is, at core, two dimensional
The Earth Shakes in Nepal Tuesday, April 28, 20150

The Earth Shakes in Nepal

The Earth shook in Nepal and the resulting destruction has been massive.
Optus: Whale Song Sunday, April 26, 20150

Optus: Whale Song

An attempt at cross-species communications with whales but no idea what they thought of the song.
Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations" Saturday, April 25, 20150

Prince Ea speaks to "Dear: Future Generations"

The rapper Prince Ea has a few spoken words to offer about trees and future generations.
"Look to the Mountains" Friday, April 24, 20150

"Look to the Mountains"

A photographer, mountaineer, and environmental ambassador says: "look to the mountains".
Volcano Power Thursday, April 23, 20150

Volcano Power

A stunning display of raw volcanic power was captured on video.
When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.

Arctic Report Card Wednesday, December 12, 20180

Arctic Report Card

Arctic changes make records again.

Goodbye Voyager 2 Monday, December 10, 20180

Goodbye Voyager 2

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space

A Volcano & Climate Change Sunday, December 9, 20180

A Volcano & Climate Change

A Canadian volcano re-awakens.