Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Re-photography, Nepal Thursday, April 30, 20150

Re-photography, Nepal

Re-photography is a powerful tool for comparisons and is now being applied in Nepal.
Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else Wednesday, April 29, 20150

Obama Gets Madder About Climate Change Than Anything Else

That's why it's a good thing he brought his anger translator, Luther. 
How Fragile is the Earth? Wednesday, April 29, 20150

How Fragile is the Earth?

It's easy to forget how thin our life-sustaining biosphere is. Here's a visualization. 
The Universe, as Hologram Tuesday, April 28, 20151

The Universe, as Hologram

Physicists continue to develop the idea that our universe is, at core, two dimensional
The Earth Shakes in Nepal Tuesday, April 28, 20150

The Earth Shakes in Nepal

The Earth shook in Nepal and the resulting destruction has been massive.
Optus: Whale Song Sunday, April 26, 20150

Optus: Whale Song

An attempt at cross-species communications with whales but no idea what they thought of the song.
"Look to the Mountains" Friday, April 24, 20150

"Look to the Mountains"

A photographer, mountaineer, and environmental ambassador says: "look to the mountains".
Volcano Power Thursday, April 23, 20150

Volcano Power

A stunning display of raw volcanic power was captured on video.
7 Earth Day Suggestions Wednesday, April 22, 20150

7 Earth Day Suggestions

Earth Day is today so here are 7 suggestions to celebrate the day, any day.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.

Lost & Found Worlds Sunday, April 14, 20190

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rules: odd things evolve on islands.

Cane Toad Horrors Saturday, April 13, 20190

Cane Toad Horrors

'Frankentoads' of the amphibian world.

Tough Times for Bristlecones Thursday, April 11, 20190

Tough Times for Bristlecones

The trees may be reaching their limits.

First a Theory, Now a Fact Wednesday, April 10, 20190

First a Theory, Now a Fact

First black hole photographed.

Echoes of Carl Monday, April 8, 20190

Echoes of Carl

Carl Sagan coined the phrase, a pale blue dot.