Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Tuesday, May 1, 2012

Koala’s Threatened

Australia has just listed the koala as a threatened species. The Aussie marsupial has now been declared vulnerable in Queensland, New South Wales,...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Deadly Sunrise

If you were to live on Gliese 876d, sunrise might be a deadly event. An artist illustration gives an idea of the conditions on this close-in...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Deadly Sunrise

If you were to live on Gliese 876d, sunrise might be a deadly event. An artist illustration gives an idea of the conditions on this close-in...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Deadly Sunrise

If you were to live on Gliese 876d, sunrise might be a deadly event. An artist illustration gives an idea of the conditions on this close-in...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Do We Care if Wind Farms Warm the Ground?

Poor wind farms.  For years, they've suffered more abuse than LiLo's liver:  They kill birds, say birdwatchers.  They ruin views, say...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Do We Care if Wind Farms Warm the Ground?

Poor wind farms.  For years, they've suffered more abuse than LiLo's liver:  They kill birds, say birdwatchers.  They ruin views, say...

Monday, April 30, 2012

Do We Care if Wind Farms Warm the Ground?

Poor wind farms.  For years, they've suffered more abuse than LiLo's liver:  They kill birds, say birdwatchers.  They ruin views, say...

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Salty Seas

The oceans are getting more salty. In a new Science Magazine report, Australian researchers confirm that saltier parts of the ocean are getting...

Sunday, April 29, 2012

Salty Seas

The oceans are getting more salty. In a new Science Magazine report, Australian researchers confirm that saltier parts of the ocean are getting...
Cyclone Bomb, Grayson Wednesday, January 3, 20180

Cyclone Bomb, Grayson

A super-cold, super-storm is developing.

A Gift of Gratitude Monday, January 1, 20180

A Gift of Gratitude

A new year of gratitude to pass along.

Patagonia and Sustainability Sunday, December 31, 20170

Patagonia and Sustainability

Patagonia shows how to apply sustainability in business practice.
Biomimicry Grows Up Friday, December 29, 20170

Biomimicry Grows Up

The future of biomimicry is here.

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth Thursday, December 28, 20170

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth

A dispatch from Antarctica.

Repairing Cars and Environments Wednesday, December 27, 20170

Repairing Cars and Environments

You can learn a lot about land restoration by looking under a car's "bonnet".
On The Roof Of The World Tuesday, December 26, 20170

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Compassion...a new meaning Monday, December 25, 20170

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness and living in this world.

Where Good Ideas Come From Friday, December 22, 20170

Where Good Ideas Come From

A clever storyteller suggests an answer.

in vino veritas Thursday, December 21, 20170

in vino veritas

A perfect example of blending art & science....making wine!

Where the Buffaloes Roamed Wednesday, December 20, 20171

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

Bison were rescued with the first wildlife restoration effort.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Monday, December 18, 20170

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

Animation can tell a more complex story way than is expected.

Coral Recovery? Saturday, December 16, 20170

Coral Recovery?

If scalable, coral reef restoration opportunities exist.

Bottled Arctic Notes Friday, December 15, 20170

Bottled Arctic Notes

A bottled note tossed to the waves recovered years later.

Be Nice To Nerds Wednesday, December 13, 20170

Be Nice To Nerds

Exploring DARPA's creative research approach.

Mountain Day...Every Day Tuesday, December 12, 20170

Mountain Day...Every Day

Time to celebrate mountains every day.

Small Is Beautiful Monday, December 11, 20170

Small Is Beautiful

Tiny houses meeting your individual needs.

Purple is the New Red Saturday, December 9, 20170

Purple is the New Red

Southern California has goes 'code purple'.