Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy Tuesday, March 31, 20150

World's Highest Poop to Become Energy

​The waste is piling up on Everest. There's a plan to use it for fuel. 
Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions Monday, March 30, 20150

Astrobiology, Of Age, Reevaluates its Assumptions

Astrobiology is getting serious about its techniques in the quest for discovering alien life
Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained Monday, March 30, 20150

Tropical Dry Forests (bosque seco) explained

The Royal Botanical Gardens in Scotland developed an animation to explain tropical dry forests in Latin America.
Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F Sunday, March 29, 20151

Highest Temperature Ever Recorded...63.5F

In the far south, some strange weather events happened last week.
the Powers of Ten Saturday, March 28, 20150

the Powers of Ten

Visualizing some 'big data', the Powers of Ten is still as amazing to view as it was nearly 40 years ago.
Beware the "Super Termites" Friday, March 27, 20150

Beware the "Super Termites"

Like creatures from a bad SciFi movie, a real "terminator" is out there and we likely created it. Beware the "Super Termites"!
Where it never rains...now it floods! Wednesday, March 25, 20150

Where it never rains...now it floods!

In parts of the Atacama Desert  it virtually never rains...and now it is flooding.
Tortoise Tracking Tuesday, March 24, 20150

Tortoise Tracking

Anyone can adopt a tortoise, and join the research on an ancient and endangered critter.
Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion Monday, March 23, 20151

Research helps explain Empathy and Compassion

New research is helping to explain the basis of human empathy and compassion. We could use a good deal more nowadays.
OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.