Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stormy Seas Sunday, March 31, 20130

Stormy Seas

A storm stretches across the Atlantic Ocean from Canada to Europe. It's a big storm.
Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet Saturday, March 30, 20130

Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet

If photography is being there in the moment, capturing a rainbow, a comet, and an aurora would quality.
Guns, Drugs & Turtles Saturday, March 30, 20130

Guns, Drugs & Turtles

The trade in wildlife is a huge international business. It is also depopulating entire species in the wild.
Arctic Greening Thursday, March 28, 20130

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening and fast.
Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)  Monday, March 25, 20130

Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)

The scientific community needs more mad scientists. I think all scientists are heroes, but where is the 21st century's equivalent of Nikola Tesla,...
Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe. Monday, March 25, 20130

Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe.

Biotechnology may provide the tools to restore extinct animals from DNA in stored tissues.
Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light Sunday, March 24, 20130

Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light

Average photographers are spectators. Good photographers are interpreters. In the hands of good photographers, cameras don’t just capture...
Repairing the Wounds Sunday, March 24, 20130

Repairing the Wounds

We live in a 'world of wounds' as Aldo Leopold noted but it is also possible to make repairs using knowledge and dedicated action.
Sources & Sinks Friday, March 22, 20130

Sources & Sinks

The University of Wisconsin has developed an interactive carbon cycling model. It is a powerful tool for understanding the impact of CO2 on the...
Denying Science Thursday, January 10, 20190

Denying Science

Rejecting 'magic beans'.

What is Invisible? Tuesday, January 8, 20190

What is Invisible?

Dealing with the invisible.

Low-cost Reforestation Monday, January 7, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.