Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Stormy Seas Sunday, March 31, 20130

Stormy Seas

A storm stretches across the Atlantic Ocean from Canada to Europe. It's a big storm.
Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet Saturday, March 30, 20130

Auroras, a Rainbow, and a Comet

If photography is being there in the moment, capturing a rainbow, a comet, and an aurora would quality.
Guns, Drugs & Turtles Saturday, March 30, 20130

Guns, Drugs & Turtles

The trade in wildlife is a huge international business. It is also depopulating entire species in the wild.
Arctic Greening Thursday, March 28, 20130

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening and fast.
Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)  Monday, March 25, 20130

Why Won't Elon Musk Build a Death Ray? (And Use it on Guy Fieri?)

The scientific community needs more mad scientists. I think all scientists are heroes, but where is the 21st century's equivalent of Nikola Tesla,...
Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe. Monday, March 25, 20130

Is De-Extinction possible? Maybe.

Biotechnology may provide the tools to restore extinct animals from DNA in stored tissues.
Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light Sunday, March 24, 20130

Great Photos Can Make You See the World in a New Light

Average photographers are spectators. Good photographers are interpreters. In the hands of good photographers, cameras don’t just capture...
Repairing the Wounds Sunday, March 24, 20130

Repairing the Wounds

We live in a 'world of wounds' as Aldo Leopold noted but it is also possible to make repairs using knowledge and dedicated action.
Sources & Sinks Friday, March 22, 20130

Sources & Sinks

The University of Wisconsin has developed an interactive carbon cycling model. It is a powerful tool for understanding the impact of CO2 on the...
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.