Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

More holes of mystery in Siberia (video) Saturday, February 28, 20150

More holes of mystery in Siberia (video)

Not As We Know It Friday, February 27, 20150

Not As We Know It

Saturn's planet-sized moon Titan might harbor life but it would be life like nothing we know.
High School chemistry & biology Monday, February 23, 20150

High School chemistry & biology

Some parts of climate change science and the consequences of increased CO2 in the atmosphere are  explained with high school textbooks.
Whales as Engineers Sunday, February 22, 20150

Whales as Engineers

Whales are "ecosystem engineers" from the essential role they play in the ocean's food chain.
Double Whammy Friday, February 20, 20150

Double Whammy

Australia has received a double whammy of severe weather as two cyclones hit the country at once,.
GOP Disappointed that New National Monuments Won't Be Properly Exploited Thursday, February 19, 20150

GOP Disappointed that New National Monuments Won't Be Properly Exploited

Obama names 3 new monuments; GOP worries that our grandchildren won't experience same level of natural resource extraction as this generation.
Alfred Wegener, Drifting Continents, and an Animated Pangaea Wednesday, February 18, 20150

Alfred Wegener, Drifting Continents, and an Animated Pangaea

Paradigm shifts in science can be made by anyone with a keen curiosity, the patience, and good data to 'connect the dots' that others don't see.
The Battle-Ready Version of Evolution is a Lie Tuesday, February 17, 20150

The Battle-Ready Version of Evolution is a Lie

Happy Darwin Day, 2015 Sunday, February 15, 20150

Happy Darwin Day, 2015

"theory" needs to be dropped from any mention of evolution as the gene for biological change has now been discovered...just in time for Darwin...
Cyclone Bomb, Grayson Wednesday, January 3, 20180

Cyclone Bomb, Grayson

A super-cold, super-storm is developing.

A Gift of Gratitude Monday, January 1, 20180

A Gift of Gratitude

A new year of gratitude to pass along.

Patagonia and Sustainability Sunday, December 31, 20170

Patagonia and Sustainability

Patagonia shows how to apply sustainability in business practice.
Biomimicry Grows Up Friday, December 29, 20170

Biomimicry Grows Up

The future of biomimicry is here.

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth Thursday, December 28, 20170

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth

A dispatch from Antarctica.

Repairing Cars and Environments Wednesday, December 27, 20170

Repairing Cars and Environments

You can learn a lot about land restoration by looking under a car's "bonnet".
On The Roof Of The World Tuesday, December 26, 20170

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Compassion...a new meaning Monday, December 25, 20170

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness and living in this world.

Where Good Ideas Come From Friday, December 22, 20170

Where Good Ideas Come From

A clever storyteller suggests an answer.

in vino veritas Thursday, December 21, 20170

in vino veritas

A perfect example of blending art & science....making wine!

Where the Buffaloes Roamed Wednesday, December 20, 20171

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

Bison were rescued with the first wildlife restoration effort.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Monday, December 18, 20170

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

Animation can tell a more complex story way than is expected.

Coral Recovery? Saturday, December 16, 20170

Coral Recovery?

If scalable, coral reef restoration opportunities exist.

Bottled Arctic Notes Friday, December 15, 20170

Bottled Arctic Notes

A bottled note tossed to the waves recovered years later.

Be Nice To Nerds Wednesday, December 13, 20170

Be Nice To Nerds

Exploring DARPA's creative research approach.

Mountain Day...Every Day Tuesday, December 12, 20170

Mountain Day...Every Day

Time to celebrate mountains every day.

Small Is Beautiful Monday, December 11, 20170

Small Is Beautiful

Tiny houses meeting your individual needs.

Purple is the New Red Saturday, December 9, 20170

Purple is the New Red

Southern California has goes 'code purple'.