Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball Friday, February 28, 20140

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball

Tim DeChristopher came to prominence as a monkey wrencher, but the tool that best describes him now is probably "sledgehammer." 
So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore Friday, February 28, 20140

So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore

Kepler announced confirmation of 715 new planets with more to come from the trove of stars already scanned into the database.
The Distorting Effect of Ideology Thursday, February 27, 20140

The Distorting Effect of Ideology

Why would so many Republicans see the evidence on a natural phenomenon so differently from the way that most people see it? Do they also have...
Beyond the Beyond Wednesday, February 26, 20140

Beyond the Beyond

Ancient mariners and Tibetan monks each had their ideas of a place that was 'beyond the beyond', the very definition of faraway. They could have...
The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool Monday, February 24, 20140

The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool

In just two weeks, Fox debuts their new version of Cosmos. I need to find some Sheldon-level geeks to watch it with. I need to...
The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket Monday, February 24, 20140

The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket

Because, sometimes, when you're on the bus, you need to know how finches are related to budgies. 
A Bad Attitude Monday, February 24, 20141

A Bad Attitude

By Reilly Capps  If physical violence is always wrong -- and it is -- then why does it sometimes feel so good?
Sochi, the Caucasus Sunday, February 23, 20140

Sochi, the Caucasus

The 2014 Winter Olympics are ending in Sochi, Russia. An impressive 'last look' shows the entire venue even if not the skiers.
Swamped Saturday, February 22, 20140

Swamped

Between December 2013 and January 2014, a series of storms in the UK left 15 inches of rain on southern England. The storms have produced major...
Cyclone Bomb, Grayson Wednesday, January 3, 20180

Cyclone Bomb, Grayson

A super-cold, super-storm is developing.

A Gift of Gratitude Monday, January 1, 20180

A Gift of Gratitude

A new year of gratitude to pass along.

Patagonia and Sustainability Sunday, December 31, 20170

Patagonia and Sustainability

Patagonia shows how to apply sustainability in business practice.
Biomimicry Grows Up Friday, December 29, 20170

Biomimicry Grows Up

The future of biomimicry is here.

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth Thursday, December 28, 20170

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth

A dispatch from Antarctica.

Repairing Cars and Environments Wednesday, December 27, 20170

Repairing Cars and Environments

You can learn a lot about land restoration by looking under a car's "bonnet".
On The Roof Of The World Tuesday, December 26, 20170

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Compassion...a new meaning Monday, December 25, 20170

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness and living in this world.

Where Good Ideas Come From Friday, December 22, 20170

Where Good Ideas Come From

A clever storyteller suggests an answer.

in vino veritas Thursday, December 21, 20170

in vino veritas

A perfect example of blending art & science....making wine!

Where the Buffaloes Roamed Wednesday, December 20, 20171

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

Bison were rescued with the first wildlife restoration effort.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Monday, December 18, 20170

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

Animation can tell a more complex story way than is expected.

Coral Recovery? Saturday, December 16, 20170

Coral Recovery?

If scalable, coral reef restoration opportunities exist.

Bottled Arctic Notes Friday, December 15, 20170

Bottled Arctic Notes

A bottled note tossed to the waves recovered years later.

Be Nice To Nerds Wednesday, December 13, 20170

Be Nice To Nerds

Exploring DARPA's creative research approach.

Mountain Day...Every Day Tuesday, December 12, 20170

Mountain Day...Every Day

Time to celebrate mountains every day.

Small Is Beautiful Monday, December 11, 20170

Small Is Beautiful

Tiny houses meeting your individual needs.

Purple is the New Red Saturday, December 9, 20170

Purple is the New Red

Southern California has goes 'code purple'.