Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball Friday, February 28, 20140

DeChristopher's a Wrecking Ball

Tim DeChristopher came to prominence as a monkey wrencher, but the tool that best describes him now is probably "sledgehammer." 
So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore Friday, February 28, 20140

So Many New Planets, So Little Time to Explore

Kepler announced confirmation of 715 new planets with more to come from the trove of stars already scanned into the database.
The Distorting Effect of Ideology Thursday, February 27, 20140

The Distorting Effect of Ideology

Why would so many Republicans see the evidence on a natural phenomenon so differently from the way that most people see it? Do they also have...
Beyond the Beyond Wednesday, February 26, 20140

Beyond the Beyond

Ancient mariners and Tibetan monks each had their ideas of a place that was 'beyond the beyond', the very definition of faraway. They could have...
The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool Monday, February 24, 20140

The Cosmos is All That Is ... Cool

In just two weeks, Fox debuts their new version of Cosmos. I need to find some Sheldon-level geeks to watch it with. I need to...
The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket Monday, February 24, 20140

The Tree of Life, in Your Pocket

Because, sometimes, when you're on the bus, you need to know how finches are related to budgies. 
A Bad Attitude Monday, February 24, 20141

A Bad Attitude

By Reilly Capps  If physical violence is always wrong -- and it is -- then why does it sometimes feel so good?
Sochi, the Caucasus Sunday, February 23, 20140

Sochi, the Caucasus

The 2014 Winter Olympics are ending in Sochi, Russia. An impressive 'last look' shows the entire venue even if not the skiers.
Swamped Saturday, February 22, 20140

Swamped

Between December 2013 and January 2014, a series of storms in the UK left 15 inches of rain on southern England. The storms have produced major...
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.