Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The End of Skiing? Thursday, February 28, 20130

The End of Skiing?

Winter won’t end, but skiing might fall off as a winter sport, if current trends continue. Where will you ski in 50 years? Maybe more in...
Change the Course Wednesday, February 27, 20130

Change the Course

Change the Course was initiated to assist water conservation efforts and help to restore the Colorado River delta.
Flashing Light Sunday, February 24, 20130

Flashing Light

Solarization is a special photo technique where a developing print is exposed to a flash of light while still in the darkroom tray. The result...
Self Portrait Saturday, February 23, 20130

Self Portrait

The Jet Propulsion Laboratory at CalTech and NASA have released a panoramic self-portrait of the Curiosity Rover compiled from multiple...
Molton Rain Thursday, February 21, 20130

Molton Rain

Photography and video are used as powerful tools in helping to document research findings and create visual stories. An amazing example was...
Breakthrough Prizes Wednesday, February 20, 20130

Breakthrough Prizes

When you think of Silicon Valley, the life sciences aren't the first things that come to mind. The valley, once known for its orchards and berry...

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Envious of a Sea Slug

By Lucas Gardner As reported by the Royal Society journal, Japanese researchers recently observed a very strange, very special ability of the...
President's Day Quiz Monday, February 18, 20130

President's Day Quiz

President's Day quiz: Where is the most isolated city in the world? Perhaps a volcanic island provides a clue: Mystery Desert Island (credit:...
The Dark Hedges Sunday, February 17, 20130

The Dark Hedges

We all need some mystery and mythology in our lives. That is one reason why science fiction and fantasy novels and their movie adaptations remain...
Cyclone Bomb, Grayson Wednesday, January 3, 20180

Cyclone Bomb, Grayson

A super-cold, super-storm is developing.

A Gift of Gratitude Monday, January 1, 20180

A Gift of Gratitude

A new year of gratitude to pass along.

Patagonia and Sustainability Sunday, December 31, 20170

Patagonia and Sustainability

Patagonia shows how to apply sustainability in business practice.
Biomimicry Grows Up Friday, December 29, 20170

Biomimicry Grows Up

The future of biomimicry is here.

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth Thursday, December 28, 20170

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth

A dispatch from Antarctica.

Repairing Cars and Environments Wednesday, December 27, 20170

Repairing Cars and Environments

You can learn a lot about land restoration by looking under a car's "bonnet".
On The Roof Of The World Tuesday, December 26, 20170

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Compassion...a new meaning Monday, December 25, 20170

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness and living in this world.

Where Good Ideas Come From Friday, December 22, 20170

Where Good Ideas Come From

A clever storyteller suggests an answer.

in vino veritas Thursday, December 21, 20170

in vino veritas

A perfect example of blending art & science....making wine!

Where the Buffaloes Roamed Wednesday, December 20, 20171

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

Bison were rescued with the first wildlife restoration effort.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Monday, December 18, 20170

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

Animation can tell a more complex story way than is expected.

Coral Recovery? Saturday, December 16, 20170

Coral Recovery?

If scalable, coral reef restoration opportunities exist.

Bottled Arctic Notes Friday, December 15, 20170

Bottled Arctic Notes

A bottled note tossed to the waves recovered years later.

Be Nice To Nerds Wednesday, December 13, 20170

Be Nice To Nerds

Exploring DARPA's creative research approach.

Mountain Day...Every Day Tuesday, December 12, 20170

Mountain Day...Every Day

Time to celebrate mountains every day.

Small Is Beautiful Monday, December 11, 20170

Small Is Beautiful

Tiny houses meeting your individual needs.

Purple is the New Red Saturday, December 9, 20170

Purple is the New Red

Southern California has goes 'code purple'.