Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The End of Skiing? Thursday, February 28, 20130

The End of Skiing?

Winter won’t end, but skiing might fall off as a winter sport, if current trends continue. Where will you ski in 50 years? Maybe more in...
Change the Course Wednesday, February 27, 20130

Change the Course

Change the Course was initiated to assist water conservation efforts and help to restore the Colorado River delta.
Flashing Light Sunday, February 24, 20130

Flashing Light

Solarization is a special photo technique where a developing print is exposed to a flash of light while still in the darkroom tray. The result...
Self Portrait Saturday, February 23, 20130

Self Portrait

The Jet Propulsion Laboratory at CalTech and NASA have released a panoramic self-portrait of the Curiosity Rover compiled from multiple...
Molton Rain Thursday, February 21, 20130

Molton Rain

Photography and video are used as powerful tools in helping to document research findings and create visual stories. An amazing example was...
Breakthrough Prizes Wednesday, February 20, 20130

Breakthrough Prizes

When you think of Silicon Valley, the life sciences aren't the first things that come to mind. The valley, once known for its orchards and berry...

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Envious of a Sea Slug

By Lucas Gardner As reported by the Royal Society journal, Japanese researchers recently observed a very strange, very special ability of the...
President's Day Quiz Monday, February 18, 20130

President's Day Quiz

President's Day quiz: Where is the most isolated city in the world? Perhaps a volcanic island provides a clue: Mystery Desert Island (credit:...
The Dark Hedges Sunday, February 17, 20130

The Dark Hedges

We all need some mystery and mythology in our lives. That is one reason why science fiction and fantasy novels and their movie adaptations remain...
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.