Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The End of Skiing? Thursday, February 28, 20130

The End of Skiing?

Winter won’t end, but skiing might fall off as a winter sport, if current trends continue. Where will you ski in 50 years? Maybe more in...
Change the Course Wednesday, February 27, 20130

Change the Course

Change the Course was initiated to assist water conservation efforts and help to restore the Colorado River delta.
Flashing Light Sunday, February 24, 20130

Flashing Light

Solarization is a special photo technique where a developing print is exposed to a flash of light while still in the darkroom tray. The result...
Self Portrait Saturday, February 23, 20130

Self Portrait

The Jet Propulsion Laboratory at CalTech and NASA have released a panoramic self-portrait of the Curiosity Rover compiled from multiple...
Molton Rain Thursday, February 21, 20130

Molton Rain

Photography and video are used as powerful tools in helping to document research findings and create visual stories. An amazing example was...
Breakthrough Prizes Wednesday, February 20, 20130

Breakthrough Prizes

When you think of Silicon Valley, the life sciences aren't the first things that come to mind. The valley, once known for its orchards and berry...

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Envious of a Sea Slug

By Lucas Gardner As reported by the Royal Society journal, Japanese researchers recently observed a very strange, very special ability of the...
President's Day Quiz Monday, February 18, 20130

President's Day Quiz

President's Day quiz: Where is the most isolated city in the world? Perhaps a volcanic island provides a clue: Mystery Desert Island (credit:...
The Dark Hedges Sunday, February 17, 20130

The Dark Hedges

We all need some mystery and mythology in our lives. That is one reason why science fiction and fantasy novels and their movie adaptations remain...
Denying Science Thursday, January 10, 20190

Denying Science

Rejecting 'magic beans'.

What is Invisible? Tuesday, January 8, 20190

What is Invisible?

Dealing with the invisible.

Low-cost Reforestation Monday, January 7, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.