Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris? Thursday, December 31, 20150

Possible Global New Year's Resolution: Less space debris?

Video shows space debris accumulation from 1957 - 2015
Kepler Planets Animated Thursday, December 31, 20150

Kepler Planets Animated

The Kepler space telescope discovered more alien planets now that its vision has been restored.
NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research Wednesday, December 30, 20150

NASA given $55 million to accelerate 'space habitat' research

A 2016 bill instructs the agency, vaguely, to look into sustaining human life during space exploration.
Earth Images from Himawari-8 Wednesday, December 30, 20150

Earth Images from Himawari-8

Japan's  Meteorological Agency has a new satellite that captures images of Earth in virtually 'real time'.
Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video) Monday, December 28, 20150

Divers film giant squid in Toyama Bay (+video)

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing Sunday, December 27, 20150

Arctic Old Ice Vanishing

NOAA has created a photo animation to show a dramatic time-line of Arctic ice decline.
Toolmaking crows captured on video Saturday, December 26, 20150

Toolmaking crows captured on video

New Caledonian crows have been documented making and using hook-like tools for hunting
Pluto in Infrared Friday, December 25, 20150

Pluto in Infrared

Pluto's composition mapped in infrared light by the New Horizons probe continues being received.
Earthrise, redux Wednesday, December 23, 20150

Earthrise, redux

NASA has released a new version of Earthrise and it is breathtaking.
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.