Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Photo Treasure Trove Tuesday, December 31, 20130

Photo Treasure Trove

Ernest Shackleton's doomed Antarctic expedition is an epic of heroism, leadership, and survival. A treasure trove of lost photographs from the...
End of the Year Monday, December 30, 20130

End of the Year

Google is getting to be as good as anyone at tugging on our heartstrings. Here's their tip of the hat to 2013.
The Most Astounding Fact Monday, December 30, 20130

The Most Astounding Fact

You can't get enough of this very basic but completely mind-blowing fact. 
Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers Monday, December 30, 20130

Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers

You can take a good backyard telescope and look at this nebula -- it will look like a downward-facing flower. Here's more, from NatGeo. 
They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big Monday, December 30, 20130

They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big

.... it's hundreds of times brighter than a typical supernova, a nuclear bomb compared to a grenade. The energies involved are...
Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together Sunday, December 29, 20130

Dolphins and Fishermen Work Together

Dolphin intelligence -- they might be one of the smartest animals, next to certain humans. They fish!
End of Year Meteor Sunday, December 29, 20130

End of Year Meteor

Aurora Sequence Saturday, December 28, 20130

Aurora Sequence

Auroras have been particularly intense lately due to the increased numbers of solar flares. A series from Alaska is very impressive.
Make Solar Cheap Friday, December 27, 20130

Make Solar Cheap

Green energy is a public good, in the same way that education, roads and parks are, and so we will have to set up systems to make greener energy...
Juno update Friday, November 1, 20190

Juno update

Juno continues its Jupiter tour.

Halloween in Space Thursday, October 31, 20190

Halloween in Space

Re-imagining All Hallows' Day.

Viking Chardonnay Wednesday, October 30, 20190

Viking Chardonnay

A new wine region emerges.

Weather Anomalies Tuesday, October 29, 20190

Weather Anomalies

Climate change comes in multiple forms.

Rare Cat Sighting Saturday, October 26, 20190

Rare Cat Sighting

A rare feline photographed.

River Running Thursday, October 24, 20190

River Running

Removing dams restores rivers.

World Wombat Day Tuesday, October 22, 20190

World Wombat Day

A day for an iconic animal.

Revealing Pluto Monday, October 21, 20190

Revealing Pluto

Discoveries by New Horizons.

I Will Be A Hummingbird Saturday, October 19, 20190

I Will Be A Hummingbird

Wangari Maathi on the environment.

Plant Breeders Friday, October 18, 20190

Plant Breeders

We depend on plant breeders.

Robots for Mars Wednesday, October 16, 20190

Robots for Mars

Small robots for big jobs.

Return of the Bison Tuesday, October 15, 20190

Return of the Bison

Restorning a keystone species.

New Lodging Sunday, October 13, 20190

New Lodging

Finding new housing.

Colors of the Wind Friday, October 11, 20190

Colors of the Wind

Monet and van Gogh would be pleased.

Searching for Exoplanets Thursday, October 10, 20190

Searching for Exoplanets

The hunt is on.

Mars Oasis Tuesday, October 8, 20190

Mars Oasis

Ponds but no palms.

Jane Goodall Recognition Monday, October 7, 20190

Jane Goodall Recognition

A life of being mindful to nature.

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, October 5, 20190

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

On environmental compassion.