Riled Up!
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Photo Treasure Trove Tuesday, December 31, 20130

Photo Treasure Trove

Ernest Shackleton's doomed Antarctic expedition is an epic of heroism, leadership, and survival. A treasure trove of lost photographs from the...
End of the Year Monday, December 30, 20130

End of the Year

Google is getting to be as good as anyone at tugging on our heartstrings. Here's their tip of the hat to 2013.
The Most Astounding Fact Monday, December 30, 20130

The Most Astounding Fact

You can't get enough of this very basic but completely mind-blowing fact. 
Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers Monday, December 30, 20130

Nebulae Can Look Like Flowers

You can take a good backyard telescope and look at this nebula -- it will look like a downward-facing flower. Here's more, from NatGeo. 
They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big Monday, December 30, 20130

They "Thought It Was Impossible" For Supernova to Be This Big

.... it's hundreds of times brighter than a typical supernova, a nuclear bomb compared to a grenade. The energies involved are...
End of Year Meteor Sunday, December 29, 20130

End of Year Meteor

Aurora Sequence Saturday, December 28, 20130

Aurora Sequence

Auroras have been particularly intense lately due to the increased numbers of solar flares. A series from Alaska is very impressive.
Make Solar Cheap Friday, December 27, 20130

Make Solar Cheap

Green energy is a public good, in the same way that education, roads and parks are, and so we will have to set up systems to make greener energy...
A Poem for the Koch Brothers Sunday, December 22, 20130

A Poem for the Koch Brothers

Helicoptering  in -- case you forgot --   beluga n’herring for Fido and Spot,  begging and kvetching for drilling...
Social Distancing PSA Tuesday, March 24, 20200

Social Distancing PSA

Humor in the time of contagions.

Mountain Gorillas and COVID-19 Monday, March 23, 20200

Mountain Gorillas and COVID-19

Great Apes could contract the virus from us.

Visionary Buildings Sunday, March 22, 20200

Visionary Buildings

Desert illusions captured by a building.

Monitoring Forests Remotely Friday, March 20, 20200

Monitoring Forests Remotely

Monitoring deforestation by satellite.

Trusting Scientists Thursday, March 19, 20200

Trusting Scientists

Scientists deserve more respect.

Toolmaking Crows Wednesday, March 18, 20200

Toolmaking Crows

Crows in New Caledonia use tools.

Coronavirus Breakthroughs Monday, March 16, 20200

Coronavirus Breakthroughs

Portential treatments for the novel virus emerge.

Cornonavirus Map Saturday, March 14, 20200

Cornonavirus Map

Mapping a spreading virus.

The Hunt Thursday, March 12, 20200

The Hunt

Hunted from above and below.

Climate Hackers Wednesday, March 11, 20200

Climate Hackers

Addressing climate change with geo-engineering.

Want Sustainable Designs?....Apply Biomimicry Tuesday, March 10, 20200

Want Sustainable Designs?....Apply Biomimicry

Endless possibilities for sustainable designs.

Re-wilding Monday, March 9, 20200

Re-wilding

Restoring once complex landscapes.

Super Termites Saturday, March 7, 20200

Super Termites

A real 'terminator' arrives.

Martian Panoramas Thursday, March 5, 20200

Martian Panoramas

Seeing Mars in Hi-Res.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, March 4, 20200

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful to re-imagine work.
Biomimicry and Light Bulbs Tuesday, March 3, 20200

Biomimicry and Light Bulbs

Intelligent designs from nature.

Teaching Science in Virtual Labs Monday, March 2, 20200

Teaching Science in Virtual Labs

New tools for teaching science.

Rocks at Rest Sunday, March 1, 20200

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.