Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Book Report: "Resurrection Science" Monday, November 30, 20150

Book Report: "Resurrection Science"

Message in a Bottle Monday, November 30, 20150

Message in a Bottle

CO2 measurements from Hawaii's Mauna Loa volcano have been an environmental message in a bottle.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Sunday, November 29, 20150

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.
Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment Saturday, November 28, 20150

Matthieu Ricard: Altruism, Compassion, & the Environment

Matthieu Ricard, the intellectual and Buddhist monk, gives his perspective on altruism, compassion, and the environment.
A Drone for Mars Friday, November 27, 20150

A Drone for Mars

JPL is developing designs for a drone to photograph and video the surface of Mars.
Geomagnetic Field Probably Won't Flip Anytime Soon Thursday, November 26, 20150

Geomagnetic Field Probably Won't Flip Anytime Soon

A new study shows that the Earth's magnetic field won't be flipping soon.
Carl Safina: What are animals thinking? Thursday, November 26, 20150

Carl Safina: What are animals thinking?

Conservationist Carl Safina presented a new perspective on animal intelligence for a Google audience.
General Relativity's Centenary Today! Wednesday, November 25, 20150

General Relativity's Centenary Today!

The theory that introduced space-time turns 100 years old.
George the Poet on Climate Change Tuesday, November 24, 20150

George the Poet on Climate Change

Wordsmith George the Poet gives his attention to climate change matters.
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.