Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Comet Ison Fizzles? Saturday, November 30, 20130

Comet Ison Fizzles?

Comet Ison passed near the Sun on Thanksgiving Day and photo animations captured the event.
A Different View Thursday, November 28, 20130

A Different View

The space station had a different perspective of the Thanksgiving parades.
Midsummer Fires Tuesday, November 26, 20130

Midsummer Fires

Yosemite National Park experienced the massive Rim Fire in mid-August. Snow now covers the burn scars but run-off will carry exposed sediment in...

Monday, November 25, 2013

I Have Fallen in Love With a Car (Sharing Service)

[These sleek little Car2Go cars have just been introduced in my city, Denver. Photo from Daimler.] America's love affair with big fat...
Transition Lab Friday, November 22, 20130

Transition Lab

An existential angst often happens to college students saddled with large debts to gain degrees requiring them to then spend their lives paying it...
What a Difference a Year Makes Thursday, November 21, 20130

What a Difference a Year Makes

Deforestation occurs in many ways: clearing for agriculture, illegal logging, political corruption, and fires. With remote sensing, researchers...

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

How to Convince Your Grandkids You're Not a Smelly A-Hole

  [If you own a car like this, smear mud on it. That will make it more plausible.]

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

On the Level of Animals

By Reilly Capps The animals keep getting more human. Or maybe it's the other way around.
What Next? answered and it's strange Tuesday, November 19, 20130

What Next? answered and it's strange

Queensland's Sunshine Coast known for its fine beaches but now has now been pummeled by orange-sized hail.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.

Lost & Found Worlds Sunday, April 14, 20190

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rules: odd things evolve on islands.

Cane Toad Horrors Saturday, April 13, 20190

Cane Toad Horrors

'Frankentoads' of the amphibian world.

Tough Times for Bristlecones Thursday, April 11, 20190

Tough Times for Bristlecones

The trees may be reaching their limits.

First a Theory, Now a Fact Wednesday, April 10, 20190

First a Theory, Now a Fact

First black hole photographed.

Echoes of Carl Monday, April 8, 20190

Echoes of Carl

Carl Sagan coined the phrase, a pale blue dot.