Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Reading Trees Thursday, October 31, 20130

Reading Trees

Plants speak to us if we're willing to pay attention and trees are excellent books to read.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

One Year Since Sandy, and 'The Jersey Shore' is Still Dumb

Some thoughts on the Jersey Shore, "The Jersey Shore" and climate change.  
Lost & Found Worlds Tuesday, October 29, 20130

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rule #1: odd things evolve on islands.
Kraken Mare Saturday, October 26, 20130

Kraken Mare

In ancient Greek legends, the Kraken was a sea monster that came from the deep to devour unsuspecting fishermen and sailors. JPL has located the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Electric, Cute.

Eight U.S. states are working toward getting more electric cars on the road, making it easier and cheaper to charge them. They hope to up the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Black Holes Might Have a Wall of Fire Around Them

At the event horizon of a black hole, there might be a "wall of fire" that destroys everything.  
Saturn Mosaic Thursday, October 24, 20130

Saturn Mosaic

Cassini continues to surprise us with a mosaic of multiple images acquired from Saturn.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The View from Above

This is nice. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Telepathy Just a Few Years Away

You can watch your own dreams, and scientists can read your mind. 
Connecting Country Thursday, March 8, 20180

Connecting Country

A win, win, win project.

Juno Delivers, Again! Tuesday, March 6, 20180

Juno Delivers, Again!

Viewing data from Juno's mission to Jupiter.

GOES-17 Launched Monday, March 5, 20180

GOES-17 Launched

GOES-17 goes into orbit.

Bombed Out Saturday, March 3, 20180

Bombed Out

Super-storm Riled bombs the East Coast.

Resilience Mapping Friday, March 2, 20180

Resilience Mapping

Preparing communities for climate change.

Tumbler in Paradise Wednesday, February 28, 20180

Tumbler in Paradise

Earthquakes driving geological and biological diversity.

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor Tuesday, February 27, 20180

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor

New discoveries on undersea mountains.

River Restoration and the Market Monday, February 26, 20180

River Restoration and the Market

River restoration is both economically and ecologically important.
Crossing Boundaries Sunday, February 25, 20180

Crossing Boundaries

Biodiversity boundaries are being crossed.

What is Invisible? Friday, February 23, 20180

What is Invisible?

How do  you deal with the invisible?

Wild Temperatures Thursday, February 22, 20180

Wild Temperatures

It's now above freezing in the Arctic winter.

Bobbing Boulders Wednesday, February 21, 20180

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Reverence Tuesday, February 20, 20180


A Sierra Nevada meditation.

Plant of the Month: Rhododendrons Monday, February 19, 20180

Plant of the Month: Rhododendrons

Rhodies are the 'plant of the month'.

Mud Flow Event Sunday, February 18, 20180

Mud Flow Event

The Grand Staircase can be both awesome and deadly.

Solar Trackers Friday, February 16, 20180

Solar Trackers

Sunflowers as solar tracking experts.

Teaching Science via Virtual Labs Thursday, February 15, 20180

Teaching Science via Virtual Labs

Storytelling, virtual labs, and 'big data' for science education.
New Plastics Economy Tuesday, February 13, 20180

New Plastics Economy

A more sustainable economy is envisioned.