Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Reading Trees Thursday, October 31, 20130

Reading Trees

Plants speak to us if we're willing to pay attention and trees are excellent books to read.

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

One Year Since Sandy, and 'The Jersey Shore' is Still Dumb

Some thoughts on the Jersey Shore, "The Jersey Shore" and climate change.  
Lost & Found Worlds Tuesday, October 29, 20130

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rule #1: odd things evolve on islands.
Kraken Mare Saturday, October 26, 20130

Kraken Mare

In ancient Greek legends, the Kraken was a sea monster that came from the deep to devour unsuspecting fishermen and sailors. JPL has located the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Electric, Cute.

Eight U.S. states are working toward getting more electric cars on the road, making it easier and cheaper to charge them. They hope to up the...

Friday, October 25, 2013

Black Holes Might Have a Wall of Fire Around Them

At the event horizon of a black hole, there might be a "wall of fire" that destroys everything.  
Saturn Mosaic Thursday, October 24, 20130

Saturn Mosaic

Cassini continues to surprise us with a mosaic of multiple images acquired from Saturn.

Thursday, October 24, 2013

The View from Above

This is nice. 

Thursday, October 24, 2013

Telepathy Just a Few Years Away

You can watch your own dreams, and scientists can read your mind. 
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.