Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

Where’s the Global Warming Talk?

Even in the aftermath of a huge hurricane, major outlets aren’t talking about global warming By Reilly Capps The coverage of Sandy has been...

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Hurricane Sandy Storm Report

By Lucas Gardner Greetings from Buffalo. I'm right in the middle of the drizzly path of Hurricane Sandy. It has been nicknamed “Frankenstorm” by...

Tuesday, October 30, 2012

Super Storm

All climate change models predict an increase and frequency of extreme weather events due to a warming atmosphere that can hold more moisture....

Monday, October 29, 2012

Triple Threat

Hurricane Sandy is a triple threat of a storm. Combining high winds, heavy rains, and surging tides, the monster storm has begun to slam into the...

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Ghost Orchid

Orchids come in all shapes, sizes, and forms. Here is a very tiny species---less than 3” tall---native to woodlands and stream-bank forests of...

Saturday, October 27, 2012

Poor Monkey

Florida’s Mystery Monkey has finally been captured. Over the past three years, he had been widely seen crossing suburban streets visiting...

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

Dear Army Corp of Engineers: This is How Every Bridge Should Look

I never want to cross another bridge that isn’t a trampoline bridge. It looks too good to be true. It is. This is just a concept, entered...

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

James Balog’s Brilliant TED Talk

Tuesday, October 23, 2012

James Balog’s Brilliant TED Talk

When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.

Arctic Report Card Wednesday, December 12, 20180

Arctic Report Card

Arctic changes make records again.

Goodbye Voyager 2 Monday, December 10, 20180

Goodbye Voyager 2

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space

A Volcano & Climate Change Sunday, December 9, 20180

A Volcano & Climate Change

A Canadian volcano re-awakens.