Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks Sunday, January 31, 20160

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks

Communicating in the ocean depths is tricky when no light exists.
Color Coded Signaling in Octopus Saturday, January 30, 20160

Color Coded Signaling in Octopus

Octopuses use a color-coded system to signal to other octopus.
NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change Thursday, January 28, 20160

NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change

NASA has animated temperature data to show climate change from 1880-2014.
Fallen Tree Wednesday, January 27, 20160

Fallen Tree

Environmental field work has its joys, challenges, and dangers as tree biologist Nalini Nadkarni can attest.
Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time Tuesday, January 26, 20160

Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time

A San Francisco non-profit is restoring degraded ecosystems one bit at a time.
Acongagua Rock Avalanche Sunday, January 24, 20160

Acongagua Rock Avalanche

A huge debris flow was recorded by trekkers on cerro Acongagua in Argentina.
East Coast Blizzard from Space Saturday, January 23, 20160

East Coast Blizzard from Space

A view of the East Coast blizzard as seen from the Space Station.
Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics Thursday, January 21, 20160

Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics

Fluid dynamics and climate change affects how glaciers decline with iceberg calving events.
A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted Wednesday, January 20, 20160

A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted

Caltech researchers predict a real Planet "X" exists in the outer solar system.
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.