Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks Sunday, January 31, 20160

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks

Communicating in the ocean depths is tricky when no light exists.
Color Coded Signaling in Octopus Saturday, January 30, 20160

Color Coded Signaling in Octopus

Octopuses use a color-coded system to signal to other octopus.
NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change Thursday, January 28, 20160

NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change

NASA has animated temperature data to show climate change from 1880-2014.
Fallen Tree Wednesday, January 27, 20160

Fallen Tree

Environmental field work has its joys, challenges, and dangers as tree biologist Nalini Nadkarni can attest.
Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time Tuesday, January 26, 20160

Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time

A San Francisco non-profit is restoring degraded ecosystems one bit at a time.
Acongagua Rock Avalanche Sunday, January 24, 20160

Acongagua Rock Avalanche

A huge debris flow was recorded by trekkers on cerro Acongagua in Argentina.
East Coast Blizzard from Space Saturday, January 23, 20160

East Coast Blizzard from Space

A view of the East Coast blizzard as seen from the Space Station.
Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics Thursday, January 21, 20160

Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics

Fluid dynamics and climate change affects how glaciers decline with iceberg calving events.
A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted Wednesday, January 20, 20160

A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted

Caltech researchers predict a real Planet "X" exists in the outer solar system.
As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.

Fractal Jupiter Monday, August 14, 20170

Fractal Jupiter

Imagine Jupiter as a Grateful Dead poster.

Volcanoes Underwater Saturday, August 12, 20170

Volcanoes Underwater

Undersea island formation explained by volcanoes.

Greeenland Is Burning Friday, August 11, 20170

Greeenland Is Burning

When Big is Better Thursday, August 10, 20170

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.