Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks Sunday, January 31, 20160

David Gruber: on Glow-in-the-Dark Sharks

Communicating in the ocean depths is tricky when no light exists.
Color Coded Signaling in Octopus Saturday, January 30, 20160

Color Coded Signaling in Octopus

Octopuses use a color-coded system to signal to other octopus.
NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change Thursday, January 28, 20160

NASA Animates 100 years of Climate Change

NASA has animated temperature data to show climate change from 1880-2014.
Fallen Tree Wednesday, January 27, 20160

Fallen Tree

Environmental field work has its joys, challenges, and dangers as tree biologist Nalini Nadkarni can attest.
Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time Tuesday, January 26, 20160

Ecosystem Restoration One Grove and Marsh at a Time

A San Francisco non-profit is restoring degraded ecosystems one bit at a time.
Acongagua Rock Avalanche Sunday, January 24, 20160

Acongagua Rock Avalanche

A huge debris flow was recorded by trekkers on cerro Acongagua in Argentina.
East Coast Blizzard from Space Saturday, January 23, 20160

East Coast Blizzard from Space

A view of the East Coast blizzard as seen from the Space Station.
Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics Thursday, January 21, 20160

Iceberg Calving and Glacial Dynamics

Fluid dynamics and climate change affects how glaciers decline with iceberg calving events.
A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted Wednesday, January 20, 20160

A Real Planet "X" Is Predicted

Caltech researchers predict a real Planet "X" exists in the outer solar system.
OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.