Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

The environmental price of convenience, hilariously conveyed Saturday, January 31, 20150

The environmental price of convenience, hilariously conveyed

The silly horror of the K-Cup phenomenon in a short film
That Dirty Congress Thursday, January 29, 20150

That Dirty Congress

The Keystone Pipeline vote is just one bit of dirty congressional legislation
Best of Intentions Thursday, January 29, 20150

Best of Intentions

Everyone loves monarch butterflies. Everyone wants to help them.
Snowflake, mega-magnified Tuesday, January 27, 20150

Snowflake, mega-magnified

If you're thinking of snowflakes, here is an electron micrograph scan mega-magnified.
Blue is the Color of Pollution Monday, January 26, 20150

Blue is the Color of Pollution

When is the color blue a sign of serious water pollution?
2015: The Year Salt Lake City Sees the 'Big One'? Sunday, January 25, 20150

2015: The Year Salt Lake City Sees the 'Big One'?

Sobering statistics about the city's vulnerability to a serious earthquake.
@Bill_Nye_tho's Cool Ass Animal of the Week: Chameleons Sunday, January 25, 20150

@Bill_Nye_tho's Cool Ass Animal of the Week: Chameleons

Guest blogger @Bill_Nye_tho returns with another Cool Ass Animal of the Week
Infrared Exposures Saturday, January 24, 20150

Infrared Exposures

You too can ponder space and time like a famous cosmologist...so start pondering!
God Explains Why He Created Climate Change Skeptics Friday, January 23, 20150

God Explains Why He Created Climate Change Skeptics

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.