Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” Friday, January 31, 20140

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.”

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” said Mark Twain about Hawaii.
Panoramic Views Thursday, January 30, 20140

Panoramic Views

The rover Curiosity has produced another remarkable panorama from its vantage point in Gale Crater on Mars. The level of detail looks like Arizona...
An Odd Future. Hope we See It. Wednesday, January 29, 20140

An Odd Future. Hope we See It.

What does the sky look like? No – let me start over. Are you there?

'Before & After' Rocks Tuesday, January 28, 20140

'Before & After' Rocks

Mars is full of surprises. A photograph taken twelve days apart shows a new rock had appeared where it hadn't been before.
Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster Sunday, January 26, 20140

Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster

Economics is often called the 'dismal science'. A hamster shows the consequences.
Convergences Saturday, January 25, 20140

Convergences

Mountain tops and remote islands are perfect environments to see convergent evolution expressed. The results are often strikingly odd and...
When Galaxies Collide Friday, January 24, 20140

When Galaxies Collide

In a couple of billion years or so, the Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxies will collide.
Attacking the Drones Thursday, January 23, 20140

Attacking the Drones

The FAA is putting up a stink about drones, saying these drones are not allowed. Why? Is the stuff they come back with too pretty? Too...
Migrating Mangroves Tuesday, January 21, 20140

Migrating Mangroves

Mangroves are on the move. They are telling a climate change story as they march north and south.
OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers Sunday, November 5, 20170

OMG Scans Greenland Glaciers

Scanning Greenland's ice dynamics.

Compassion and other creatures Sunday, November 5, 20170

Compassion and other creatures

Compassion is considered a trait uniquely human but we should make it more inclusive.

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency! Saturday, November 4, 20170

Efficiency, efficiency, & more efficiency!

Efficiency is the name of the game for energy, architecture, and solar design with three new developments showing the way.
A Brewing Storm Friday, November 3, 20170

A Brewing Storm

Climate change is already affecting growers of coffee.

Conservatives and Conservation Thursday, November 2, 20170

Conservatives and Conservation

  Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left good environmental...
Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time Wednesday, November 1, 20170

Re-seeding Reefs...one polyp at a time

One way to restore coral reefs could require re-seeding with transplanted corals.
Whales & Drones Tuesday, October 31, 20170

Whales & Drones

Remotely controlled drones provide a quiet way to track animal behavior.
Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper Monday, October 30, 20170

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Robotic engineers at JPL are turning to bio-mimicry and using a gecko as their design guide.

Fishing for Plastic Saturday, October 28, 20170

Fishing for Plastic

It takes garbage to make a boat.

Tsunami Invaders Thursday, October 26, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

The Playful Wonderland Tuesday, October 24, 20170

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Monday, October 23, 20170

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost for 1000 years.

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate' Saturday, October 21, 20170

Deforestation and 'Dirty Chocolate'

Avoiding 'dirty chocolate'.

Mars in VR Thursday, October 19, 20170

Mars in VR

Mars as if you were there.

Sounds of Space-Time Merging Wednesday, October 18, 20170

Sounds of Space-Time Merging

An audio recording 130 million years old.

What's Under All That Ice? Tuesday, October 17, 20170

What's Under All That Ice?

Remote sensing is producing a revolution in glaciology.

Observing Neutron Stars Collide Monday, October 16, 20170

Observing Neutron Stars Collide

For the first time, neutron stars were detected colliding.

Sand Kitty Saturday, October 14, 20170

Sand Kitty

Desert sand kittens on video.