Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” Friday, January 31, 20140

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.”

“The loveliest fleet of islands that lies anchored in any ocean.” said Mark Twain about Hawaii.
Panoramic Views Thursday, January 30, 20140

Panoramic Views

The rover Curiosity has produced another remarkable panorama from its vantage point in Gale Crater on Mars. The level of detail looks like Arizona...
An Odd Future. Hope we See It. Wednesday, January 29, 20140

An Odd Future. Hope we See It.

What does the sky look like? No – let me start over. Are you there?

'Before & After' Rocks Tuesday, January 28, 20140

'Before & After' Rocks

Mars is full of surprises. A photograph taken twelve days apart shows a new rock had appeared where it hadn't been before.
Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster Sunday, January 26, 20140

Economics Explained: The Impossible Hamster

Economics is often called the 'dismal science'. A hamster shows the consequences.
Convergences Saturday, January 25, 20140

Convergences

Mountain tops and remote islands are perfect environments to see convergent evolution expressed. The results are often strikingly odd and...
When Galaxies Collide Friday, January 24, 20140

When Galaxies Collide

In a couple of billion years or so, the Milky Way and the Andromeda galaxies will collide.
Attacking the Drones Thursday, January 23, 20140

Attacking the Drones

The FAA is putting up a stink about drones, saying these drones are not allowed. Why? Is the stuff they come back with too pretty? Too...
Migrating Mangroves Tuesday, January 21, 20140

Migrating Mangroves

Mangroves are on the move. They are telling a climate change story as they march north and south.
Cyclone Bomb, Grayson Wednesday, January 3, 20180

Cyclone Bomb, Grayson

A super-cold, super-storm is developing.

A Gift of Gratitude Monday, January 1, 20180

A Gift of Gratitude

A new year of gratitude to pass along.

Patagonia and Sustainability Sunday, December 31, 20170

Patagonia and Sustainability

Patagonia shows how to apply sustainability in business practice.
Biomimicry Grows Up Friday, December 29, 20170

Biomimicry Grows Up

The future of biomimicry is here.

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth Thursday, December 28, 20170

Climbing the Wolf's Tooth

A dispatch from Antarctica.

Repairing Cars and Environments Wednesday, December 27, 20170

Repairing Cars and Environments

You can learn a lot about land restoration by looking under a car's "bonnet".
On The Roof Of The World Tuesday, December 26, 20170

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Compassion...a new meaning Monday, December 25, 20170

Compassion...a new meaning

Mindfulness and living in this world.

Where Good Ideas Come From Friday, December 22, 20170

Where Good Ideas Come From

A clever storyteller suggests an answer.

in vino veritas Thursday, December 21, 20170

in vino veritas

A perfect example of blending art & science....making wine!

Where the Buffaloes Roamed Wednesday, December 20, 20171

Where the Buffaloes Roamed

Bison were rescued with the first wildlife restoration effort.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Monday, December 18, 20170

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

Animation can tell a more complex story way than is expected.

Coral Recovery? Saturday, December 16, 20170

Coral Recovery?

If scalable, coral reef restoration opportunities exist.

Bottled Arctic Notes Friday, December 15, 20170

Bottled Arctic Notes

A bottled note tossed to the waves recovered years later.

Be Nice To Nerds Wednesday, December 13, 20170

Be Nice To Nerds

Exploring DARPA's creative research approach.

Mountain Day...Every Day Tuesday, December 12, 20170

Mountain Day...Every Day

Time to celebrate mountains every day.

Small Is Beautiful Monday, December 11, 20170

Small Is Beautiful

Tiny houses meeting your individual needs.

Purple is the New Red Saturday, December 9, 20170

Purple is the New Red

Southern California has goes 'code purple'.