Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Dunes-R-Cool

Dunes are some of the coolest features of any landscape be it Earth, Mars, or Titan, the largest moon in our solar system. We typically conjure...

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Where the warming's at

Dear Climate Morons:If global warming isn't caused by people and the billions of fires we light every day in our engines and power plants, and...

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

LeBron bikes to work

No helicopters or Lambos, like Kobe. LeBron bikes to work. Apparently he does this all the time.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

You think you have a small house?

How's this for a small house? This one fits in your pocket.  Casa Básica / Basic House from martinazua on Vimeo.

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Interview with Tim DeChristopher

Tim DeChristopher interviewed from prison. "What the climate movement needs to get to is a point of resistance that doesn't have an ending," he...

Tuesday, January 31, 2012

Underwater jet pack

From ITN.

Monday, January 30, 2012

The Beauty of Pollination

Those talented programmers at the TED Talks have provided a beautiful introduction to pollination. And this new presentation doesn’t even include...

Monday, January 30, 2012

DIY Launches

The do-it-yourself (DIY) philosophy is getting way out of hand. A pair of Canadian teens launched a little plastic Lego robot off into the...

Sunday, January 29, 2012

Chasing Ice

In the vein of full disclosure, it must be admitted that I am super-biased about the subject matter of a yet-to-be released movie, Chasing Ice,...
Denying Science Thursday, January 10, 20190

Denying Science

Rejecting 'magic beans'.

What is Invisible? Tuesday, January 8, 20190

What is Invisible?

Dealing with the invisible.

Low-cost Reforestation Monday, January 7, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

When Big is Better Sunday, January 6, 20190

When Big is Better

Think 'big data'.

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland Friday, January 4, 20190

Restoration Ecology 101: Iceland

Restoring forests lost a 1000 years ago.

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back Thursday, January 3, 20190

Once Extinct, Almost Extinct, Now Back

An animated story of de-extension.

New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.