Conservatives and Conservation RiledUp! Tag name Category name
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Conservatives and Conservation

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Thursday, November 2, 2017/Categories: natural history, wildlife conservation, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

 

“You’re worried about what man has done and is doing to this magical planet that God gave us, and I share your concern. What is a conservative after all, but one who conserves?” — President Ronald Reagan

Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left environmental legacies that can be celebrated: Roosevelt for the Forest Service, the National Park Service, and Antiquities Act; Nixon for the Clean Air, Water, and Endangered Species Acts; and Bush for a major marine protected area in the Pacific Ocean.

What are the chances for such conservation initiatives today? A group called  Conservatives for Responsible Stewardship  believe it can still occur. Let's hope so.


     Environmental Statements by Republican Presidents (credit: CRS

 

 

WHB

Print

Number of views (3477)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Deadly Dorian, update Sunday, September 1, 20190

Deadly Dorian, update

Dorian lashes the Bahamas.

Deadly Dorian Sunday, September 1, 20190

Deadly Dorian

Remote sensing views Hurricane Dorian.

John Wesley Powell Friday, August 30, 20190

John Wesley Powell

Recognizing an early conservationist.

Deforestation Timelapse Thursday, August 29, 20190

Deforestation Timelapse

Visualizing forests with re-photography.

Rainforest Hero Wednesday, August 28, 20190

Rainforest Hero

Helping an animal and a park.

Drawing the Trout Tuesday, August 27, 20190

Drawing the Trout

James Prosek considers wild fish.

Visualizing Data Sunday, August 25, 20190

Visualizing Data

Technolgy to see 'big data'.

Whales as Engineers Friday, August 23, 20190

Whales as Engineers

The ocean's ecosystem engineers.

Navel of the World Thursday, August 22, 20190

Navel of the World

A spiritual mountain in Tibet.

Carnations, Plant of the Month Wednesday, August 21, 20190

Carnations, Plant of the Month

The Greeks were great plantsmen.

Fish Song Tuesday, August 20, 20190

Fish Song

Sustainable Farming Monday, August 19, 20190

Sustainable Farming

Agroecology principals applied to farming.

Valuing Nature Sunday, August 18, 20190

Valuing Nature

How to measure nature's value?

Animated Heatwave Friday, August 16, 20190

Animated Heatwave

Visualizing weather data in real-time.

Look to the Mountains Thursday, August 15, 20190

Look to the Mountains

An environmental ambassador says: Look to the Mountains.

The Climate Hackers Wednesday, August 14, 20190

The Climate Hackers

Technological solutions to address climate change.

Important Places Tuesday, August 13, 20190

Important Places

We all remember special places. Forest Woodward,

An Ice-cap Is Melting Monday, August 12, 20190

An Ice-cap Is Melting

Greenland recorded its highest temperatures.