Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

External to What?

An externality is a cost not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. It should be.

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, March 10, 2013/Categories: sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Externalities are just that, external to an analysis or model. They shouldn't be.

An externality is a cost that is not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. In the case of environmental externalities, effects such as air and water pollution, species extinction, and loss of soils, they are all negative. They are now becoming central to how best to control carbon pollution proactively and effectively.


Shi-Ling Hsu is an instructor at Florida State University and an expert in environmental and natural resource law, climate change, and economics. He has taken a big step forward with his book: The Case for a Carbon Tax in addressing the existential externality of carbon pollution and the lack of its proper pricing. In a post from his law school, Hsu summarizes the points he believes would move us forward to an:

Effective Climate Policy, The Case for a Carbon Tax




Economics and product pricing models may not be at the top of your reading list but you should be interested in their external affects on environmental sustainability.

WHB
Print

Number of views (5262)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Playful Whale Saturday, July 8, 20170

Playful Whale

Whales like to play too.

Photo-Mapping a Collapse Friday, July 7, 20170

Photo-Mapping a Collapse

Antarctica's Larsen-C icesheet will soon collapse.

Ancient Underwater Forest Uncovered Thursday, July 6, 20170

Ancient Underwater Forest Uncovered

Buried 60,000 years under the Gulf.

IR Jupiter Tuesday, July 4, 20170

IR Jupiter

Jupiter seen in infrared light.

Riding at Light Speed Monday, July 3, 20170

Riding at Light Speed

How would riding a light beam appear?

Western Fires Sunday, July 2, 20170

Western Fires

Satellites are now deployed in forest and fire monitoring.

Drumming & Dancing Birds Saturday, July 1, 20170

Drumming & Dancing Birds

Intelligence shown in drumming & dancing.

How Human Noise Affects Marine Mammals Friday, June 30, 20170

How Human Noise Affects Marine Mammals

Noise affects marine mammals directly.

Supporting Monuments Wednesday, June 28, 20170

Supporting Monuments

It is again time to support national monuments.

Ice Age Deglaciation Tuesday, June 27, 20170

Ice Age Deglaciation

The end of the Ice Age has been reconstructed.

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time Monday, June 26, 20170

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time

Ecological restoration made easy, a playbook.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Sunday, June 25, 20170

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Gorilla as 'happy camper'!

Cephalopod Week Friday, June 23, 20170

Cephalopod Week

Time to celebrate octopi.

Melting, Inside Out Thursday, June 22, 20170

Melting, Inside Out

A new glacial melting mechanism is found.

Fog Wednesday, June 21, 20170

Fog

Fog is really important.

CO2 & Climate Animated Tuesday, June 20, 20170

CO2 & Climate Animated

Visualizing climate change.

Super Hot Monday, June 19, 20170

Super Hot

An extreme heat anomaly covers California and the western US.

California Faultlines Sunday, June 18, 20170

California Faultlines

California's geologic faultlines as seen from space.