Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Compassionate Turtles

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, June 24, 2015/Categories: natural history, Archive Pick of the Week

Sometimes, a group of monks from an exiled Tibetan monastery pass thru my city. They create complicated sand paintings, visit people under hospice care and do a solemn chant, and give lectures on trying to live a compassionate life.

The monks often speak about environmental matters and inform their listeners that animals are "sentient beings". Anyone who lives with a dog or a cat understands their companions have senses they don't understand but for other creatures this becomes more challenging. A remarkable video was captured in a wildlife enclosure at a zoo where a tortoise helped his overturned friend---who would have died from suffocation---become properly righted.



In humans, the selfless act by the turtle would have been a perfect example of 'compassion in action'. Animal behavior and psychology research is an ever expanding field.  Perhaps the scientists should ask the monks to give them some of their animal insights.

WHB
Print

Number of views (11115)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Australia Fries in Record Heatwave Friday, October 6, 20170

Australia Fries in Record Heatwave

Australian summer temperatures reached extreme levels.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Wednesday, October 4, 20170

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

What Gravitational Waves Mean Tuesday, October 3, 20170

What Gravitational Waves Mean

Gravitational waves and a Nobel Prize.

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake Monday, October 2, 20170

Once Bishop Glacier...Now Becoming Bishop Lake

British Columbian glaciers are in fast retreat.

Public Lands Day Saturday, September 30, 20170

Public Lands Day

Supporting public lands every day.

Tsunami Invaders Friday, September 29, 20170

Tsunami Invaders

Invasive species raft across the ocean.

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands Thursday, September 28, 20170

Damage Maps for Puerto Rico & US Virgin Islands

JPL producees maps for hurricane recovery.

Volcano May Explode Tuesday, September 26, 20170

Volcano May Explode

Bali's Mount Agung could erupt any time.

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica Monday, September 25, 20170

Another Glacier Cracks in Antarctica

A Manhattan-sized iceberg has now appeared.

Cassini's Last Photos Saturday, September 23, 20170

Cassini's Last Photos

Cassini gathered data and photos until its last moment.

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa Thursday, September 21, 20170

A 'Lost Crop' That Might Change Africa

A wholistic plan for a 'lost crop' that could change Africa.
The Driest Place on Earth Tuesday, September 19, 20170

The Driest Place on Earth

The Atacama Desert as a Mars analog.

Watching Tundra Melt Monday, September 18, 20170

Watching Tundra Melt

Permafrost melting in 'real time'.

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation Saturday, September 16, 20170

A Giraffe Boosts Conservation

A white giraffe becomes a wildlife icon.

Cassini's Last Bow Friday, September 15, 20170

Cassini's Last Bow

The spacecraft's exploration of Saturn has ended.

Huygens and Titan Thursday, September 14, 20170

Huygens and Titan

Remembering a distant moon lander.

Goodbye to Cassini Wednesday, September 13, 20170

Goodbye to Cassini

Cassini takes a bow and exits the stage.

Comparing Sizes Tuesday, September 12, 20170

Comparing Sizes

Physical size mattered in the Cenozoic.