Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

"Look to the Mountains"

"Look to the Mountains"

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 24, 2015/Categories: natural history, photography, sustainability, environment, adventure , climate change, Archive Pick of the Week

 Gangotri Glacier weaves 25 kilometers originating on the Chaukhamb massif. (credit: Jake Norton)

Riled Up has connections with professional photography and video producers from around the world. Master photographer, Jake Norton, of   Mountain World Productions  reflected recently about mountains  that was relevant on Earth Day or any day. Norton was designated a "mountain ambassador" by the UN so he brings a particularly developed knowledge to their current environmental situation.

Mountains are often referred to as the Earth's "water towers". What happens to the ice caps, glaciers, and rivers that descend from their high peaks and valleys affects billions of people worldwide. From California's Sierra Nevada to the Himalayas in Asia, waters draining from these majestic landscapes, sustain entire economies. Climate change is now having profound impacts on many mountain systems so they deserve more dedicated observation, respect, and protection.

You can read Norton's full commentary, "Look to the Mountains":  here


WHB
Print

Number of views (4467)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Ocean Management and Sustainability Tuesday, July 11, 20170

Ocean Management and Sustainability

A new portal offers tools for ocean sustainability.

Playful Whale Saturday, July 8, 20170

Playful Whale

Whales like to play too.

Photo-Mapping a Collapse Friday, July 7, 20170

Photo-Mapping a Collapse

Antarctica's Larsen-C icesheet will soon collapse.

Ancient Underwater Forest Uncovered Thursday, July 6, 20170

Ancient Underwater Forest Uncovered

Buried 60,000 years under the Gulf.

IR Jupiter Tuesday, July 4, 20170

IR Jupiter

Jupiter seen in infrared light.

Riding at Light Speed Monday, July 3, 20170

Riding at Light Speed

How would riding a light beam appear?

Western Fires Sunday, July 2, 20170

Western Fires

Satellites are now deployed in forest and fire monitoring.

Drumming & Dancing Birds Saturday, July 1, 20170

Drumming & Dancing Birds

Intelligence shown in drumming & dancing.

How Human Noise Affects Marine Mammals Friday, June 30, 20170

How Human Noise Affects Marine Mammals

Noise affects marine mammals directly.

Supporting Monuments Wednesday, June 28, 20170

Supporting Monuments

It is again time to support national monuments.

Ice Age Deglaciation Tuesday, June 27, 20170

Ice Age Deglaciation

The end of the Ice Age has been reconstructed.

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time Monday, June 26, 20170

Ecology Restored One Tree At A Time

Ecological restoration made easy, a playbook.

Happiness, Gorilla-style Sunday, June 25, 20170

Happiness, Gorilla-style

Gorilla as 'happy camper'!

Cephalopod Week Friday, June 23, 20170

Cephalopod Week

Time to celebrate octopi.

Melting, Inside Out Thursday, June 22, 20170

Melting, Inside Out

A new glacial melting mechanism is found.

Fog Wednesday, June 21, 20170

Fog

Fog is really important.

CO2 & Climate Animated Tuesday, June 20, 20170

CO2 & Climate Animated

Visualizing climate change.

Super Hot Monday, June 19, 20170

Super Hot

An extreme heat anomaly covers California and the western US.