Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

"Look to the Mountains"

"Look to the Mountains"

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 24, 2015/Categories: natural history, photography, sustainability, environment, adventure , climate change, Archive Pick of the Week

 Gangotri Glacier weaves 25 kilometers originating on the Chaukhamb massif. (credit: Jake Norton)

Riled Up has connections with professional photography and video producers from around the world. Master photographer, Jake Norton, of   Mountain World Productions  reflected recently about mountains  that was relevant on Earth Day or any day. Norton was designated a "mountain ambassador" by the UN so he brings a particularly developed knowledge to their current environmental situation.

Mountains are often referred to as the Earth's "water towers". What happens to the ice caps, glaciers, and rivers that descend from their high peaks and valleys affects billions of people worldwide. From California's Sierra Nevada to the Himalayas in Asia, waters draining from these majestic landscapes, sustain entire economies. Climate change is now having profound impacts on many mountain systems so they deserve more dedicated observation, respect, and protection.

You can read Norton's full commentary, "Look to the Mountains":  here


WHB
Print

Number of views (4775)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Animal Shelters Monday, September 11, 20170

Animal Shelters

Compassion for animals was shown during Irma's wrath.

Where's The Ocean Gone? Saturday, September 9, 20170

Where's The Ocean Gone?

A seafloor sucked dry.

Surging Storms Friday, September 8, 20170

Surging Storms

New environmental satellites map weather events.

Irma & Jose Together Thursday, September 7, 20170

Irma & Jose Together

Two hurricanes viewed in real-time data.

As Irma Approaches Wednesday, September 6, 20170

As Irma Approaches

Hurricane Irma is arriving 1-week after Harvey!

Endangered Species...Individual Actions Sunday, September 3, 20170

Endangered Species...Individual Actions

Individuals involved directly in species conservation.

Juno as Monet Friday, September 1, 20170

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge Thursday, August 31, 20170

Remembering the Joy before the Deluge

Remembering good times before the bad.

Parking Lot Wednesday, August 30, 20170

Parking Lot

"They paved paradise and put up a parking lot"

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event Tuesday, August 29, 20170

A 1000 Year Rainfall Event

Harvey is breaking all rainfall records and it's still raining.
What Climate Models Show & Predict Sunday, August 27, 20170

What Climate Models Show & Predict

Weather events are amplified by climate change.

A Monumental President Saturday, August 26, 20170

A Monumental President

Two new national monuments were designated.

Here Comes Harvey Thursday, August 24, 20170

Here Comes Harvey

Hurricane Harvey carrying a 'waterworld' of rain.

Environmental Space Monitoring Wednesday, August 23, 20170

Environmental Space Monitoring

Volcanic eruption seen from space.

Tetons in Totality Monday, August 21, 20170

Tetons in Totality

A national and local eclipse festival.

Night Vision Thursday, August 17, 20170

Night Vision

Tracking ice cracks in thermal infrared.

Elemental Haikus Wednesday, August 16, 20170

Elemental Haikus

A table of elemental poems with purpose.

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him? Tuesday, August 15, 20170

Where's Richard Nixon When You Need Him?

Phillipe Cousteau invisions a new environmental movement.