Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

"Look to the Mountains"

"Look to the Mountains"

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 24, 2015/Categories: natural history, photography, sustainability, environment, adventure , climate change, Archive Pick of the Week

 Gangotri Glacier weaves 25 kilometers originating on the Chaukhamb massif. (credit: Jake Norton)

Riled Up has connections with professional photography and video producers from around the world. Master photographer, Jake Norton, of   Mountain World Productions  reflected recently about mountains  that was relevant on Earth Day or any day. Norton was designated a "mountain ambassador" by the UN so he brings a particularly developed knowledge to their current environmental situation.

Mountains are often referred to as the Earth's "water towers". What happens to the ice caps, glaciers, and rivers that descend from their high peaks and valleys affects billions of people worldwide. From California's Sierra Nevada to the Himalayas in Asia, waters draining from these majestic landscapes, sustain entire economies. Climate change is now having profound impacts on many mountain systems so they deserve more dedicated observation, respect, and protection.

You can read Norton's full commentary, "Look to the Mountains":  here


WHB
Print

Number of views (4134)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Wolves Change Rivers Saturday, May 13, 20170

Wolves Change Rivers

Changing riveres one wolf at a time.

Elon Musk: The Future We're Building Friday, May 12, 20170

Elon Musk: The Future We're Building

Elon Musk drills for a new LA.

Hellish Moon Thursday, May 11, 20170

Hellish Moon

Io's lava waves.

To Key Plants Wednesday, May 10, 20170

To Key Plants

Keying plants goes digital and botany is democratized.

Celebrating Clouds Monday, May 8, 20170

Celebrating Clouds

Visualizing clouds from space.

Cassini's Deep Diving Sunday, May 7, 20170

Cassini's Deep Diving

Cassini sees Saturn as Monet would have painted it.

Roll-On Solar, Roll On Friday, May 5, 20170

Roll-On Solar, Roll On

A printable solar ink has been developed.

Epsilon Eridani Thursday, May 4, 20170

Epsilon Eridani

A new solar system spins 10 light years away.

Cassini's Grand Finale Wednesday, May 3, 20170

Cassini's Grand Finale

Through the rings and into Saturn at the mission's end.

Ice Flow Animation Tuesday, May 2, 20170

Ice Flow Animation

24 years of satellite data was animated.

Polar Desert Island Monday, May 1, 20170

Polar Desert Island

Ellesmere glaciers look like flowing batter.

Rings & Black Holes Friday, April 28, 20170

Rings & Black Holes

Giovanni Cassini would be proud.

Test Driving GEOS-16 Thursday, April 27, 20170

Test Driving GEOS-16

GOES-16 tracks a major dust storm in a 'test drive'.

Denying Science Tuesday, April 25, 20170

Denying Science

Learn to reject 'magic beans'.

Penguins March for Science Sunday, April 23, 20170

Penguins March for Science

Penguins joined the March for Science.

Enjoy the View Saturday, April 22, 20170

Enjoy the View

An Earth Day animation from NASA

3 Earth Day Ideas Friday, April 21, 20170

3 Earth Day Ideas

Suggestions on how to participate.

Sierra Snowpack's, 2015-2017 Thursday, April 20, 20170

Sierra Snowpack's, 2015-2017

JPL applies science to water management.