EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Intelligent Designers

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 17, 2015/Categories: video, sustainability, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Alternative energy technologies like solar, wind, and hydro-power as well as engineering efficiency offer huge commercial and job opportunities for sustainability energy production. Creative designers and engineers are essential to these technologies that can replace coal-fired power generation without disrupting lifestyles, trade, or the environment..

An exciting example was highlighted by a PBS report from Oregon on a company,  Lucid Energy , that has developed a very creative and innovative approach to harvesting the latent energy in any municipal water supply. By installing micro-turbines in Portland's water pipes, 'intelligent designers' have provided a productive and way of replacing electricity from an aging coal-fired power plant. The Lucid system simply requires people to turn-on-their-taps. The Portland system have been so successful the Company is now expanding to other cities.

                                 
                                    Micro-hydro Turbines for Municipal Water Pipes (credit: Lucid Energy)

Here is the PBS report on the micro-hydro power system now operating in Portland. This is one activity the hipsters of Portlandia can't make jokes about and it should be copied across America.




WHB
Print

Number of views (5705)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Rains in Antarctica Friday, June 16, 20170

Rains in Antarctica

It has rained in Antarctica, a polar desert.

Mud Creek Slide Thursday, June 15, 20170

Mud Creek Slide

The California coastline just increased in size.

Photographing Endangered Cultures Wednesday, June 14, 20170

Photographing Endangered Cultures

Photography as a tool for cultural preservation.

A Tale of Two Glaciers Tuesday, June 13, 20170

A Tale of Two Glaciers

Glaciers are climate change barometers.

Art & Science Saturday, June 10, 20170

Art & Science

Artists and scientists at work.

Poseidon is Watching Friday, June 9, 20170

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches over his ocean domains.

21st Century Energy Thursday, June 8, 20170

21st Century Energy

Intelligent designers and their 21st Century energy solutions.

Juno & El Greco Wednesday, June 7, 20170

Juno & El Greco

Polar animation from Jupiter.

World Environment Day Monday, June 5, 20170

World Environment Day

World Environment Day should be celebrated every day.

EasyDNNNews

Rocks at Rest Sunday, June 4, 20170

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a resting rock.

'Next Gen' Environmentalist Saturday, June 3, 20170

'Next Gen' Environmentalist

Where are the next environmentalists?

The Colours of Australia are Fading Friday, June 2, 20170

The Colours of Australia are Fading

Major changes have occurred recently to Australian forests.

The Greening Arctic Thursday, June 1, 20170

The Greening Arctic

The Arctic is becoming far greener and very fast.

When Lakes Collapse Wednesday, May 31, 20170

When Lakes Collapse

Detecting Ancient Water Tuesday, May 30, 20170

Detecting Ancient Water

A dry lake discovery on Mars.

Super Storms & Cloudscapes Sunday, May 28, 20170

Super Storms & Cloudscapes

Juno as 'art house' photographer.

Super Coral...a Super Hero? Friday, May 26, 20170

Super Coral...a Super Hero?

Heat-tolerant corals may help reef restoration.

A Climate Solution Where Everyone Wins Thursday, May 25, 20170

A Climate Solution Where Everyone Wins

An entrepreneur's vision of solving climate change.