Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Intelligent Designers

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 17, 2015/Categories: video, sustainability, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Alternative energy technologies like solar, wind, and hydro-power as well as engineering efficiency offer huge commercial and job opportunities for sustainability energy production. Creative designers and engineers are essential to these technologies that can replace coal-fired power generation without disrupting lifestyles, trade, or the environment..

An exciting example was highlighted by a PBS report from Oregon on a company,  Lucid Energy , that has developed a very creative and innovative approach to harvesting the latent energy in any municipal water supply. By installing micro-turbines in Portland's water pipes, 'intelligent designers' have provided a productive and way of replacing electricity from an aging coal-fired power plant. The Lucid system simply requires people to turn-on-their-taps. The Portland system have been so successful the Company is now expanding to other cities.

                                 
                                    Micro-hydro Turbines for Municipal Water Pipes (credit: Lucid Energy)

Here is the PBS report on the micro-hydro power system now operating in Portland. This is one activity the hipsters of Portlandia can't make jokes about and it should be copied across America.




WHB
Print

Number of views (7864)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Mars-copter Friday, May 11, 20180

Mars-copter

Testing a Mars flying machine.

California Goes Solar Thursday, May 10, 20180

California Goes Solar

California leads again into the 21st Century.

Taming the Beast Wednesday, May 9, 20180

Taming the Beast

Domesticating a wild fox takes years.

Vanilla Monday, May 7, 20180

Vanilla

Ice Cream and cyclones don't mix.

Off To Mars Saturday, May 5, 20180

Off To Mars

InSight Lander and CubeSats launched.
Robo-mussel To The Rescue Thursday, May 3, 20180

Robo-mussel To The Rescue

Robots are becoming essential ecology tools.

Io's Active Geology Wednesday, May 2, 20180

Io's Active Geology

Continuous events reshape Io.

Maps Are Beautiful Monday, April 30, 20180

Maps Are Beautiful

American rivers are visualized by GIS software.

ExoMars and the Trace Gas Orbiter Saturday, April 28, 20180

ExoMars and the Trace Gas Orbiter

Searching for exobiology on Mars.

Pollination, Plants, and the Art of Survival Friday, April 27, 20180

Pollination, Plants, and the Art of Survival

Flower pollination is captured in HD video.

World Penguin Day Thursday, April 26, 20180

World Penguin Day

A day to celebrate an iconic bird.

China's Tidal River Wednesday, April 25, 20180

China's Tidal River

Qiantang River and a big surge.

Animating Environmental Change Tuesday, April 24, 20180

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Want Sustainable Designs? ...think Biomimicry Monday, April 23, 20180

Want Sustainable Designs? ...think Biomimicry

Biomimicry offers endless ideas for sustainable design.

3 Earth Day Thoughts Sunday, April 22, 20180

3 Earth Day Thoughts

3 Perspectives for Earth Day 2018

World of Wonder Friday, April 20, 20180

World of Wonder

Reflections for Earrth Day.

Toxic Fog Thursday, April 19, 20180

Toxic Fog

Marine mercury found deposited on land by fogs.

TESS to Explore Exoplanets Wednesday, April 18, 20180

TESS to Explore Exoplanets

TESS the exoplanet hunter was launched.