EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Irony Alert: Plants Used in Herbal Remedies Cause Cancer

Author: Reilly Capps/Wednesday, August 14, 2013/Categories: Archive Pick of the Week

 

File:Aristolochia baetica a.JPG 
[Aristolochia baetica, one member of a cancer-causing genus long used in alternative medicine.]


By Reilly Capps

Sorry, Alanis Morissette, here is real, true, semi-hilarious irony:

Plants that have been used by Chinese medicine men for centuries as a natural way to cure arthritis and other disease actually cause cancer.

This is a great quote from an oncologist, from The Scientist:

“A lot of people in the lay public assume that if something is herbal or natural that it is necessarily healthy,” said Marc Ladanyi, an investigator in the human oncology and pathogenesis program at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York who was not involved in the studies. “But this work very clearly shows that this natural plant product is extremely genotoxic and carcinogenic.”

This alternative-medicine, plants from the aristolochia genus, causes more of a certain kind of mutation than smoking or sun exposure. Sun is natural. Plants are natural. But just because things are natural doesn't necessarily mean they're benign, just as things which are artificial are not necessarily harmful. You don't go around shoving pine needles into your eyeballs or drinking out of sulfur pools just because they're natural.

Nature isn't a pharmacy for humans. Half the time, it wants us dead.
Print

Number of views (3182)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Wolves Change Rivers Saturday, May 13, 20170

Wolves Change Rivers

Changing riveres one wolf at a time.

Elon Musk: The Future We're Building Friday, May 12, 20170

Elon Musk: The Future We're Building

Elon Musk drills for a new LA.

Hellish Moon Thursday, May 11, 20170

Hellish Moon

Io's lava waves.

To Key Plants Wednesday, May 10, 20170

To Key Plants

Keying plants goes digital and botany is democratized.

Celebrating Clouds Monday, May 8, 20170

Celebrating Clouds

Visualizing clouds from space.

Cassini's Deep Diving Sunday, May 7, 20170

Cassini's Deep Diving

Cassini sees Saturn as Monet would have painted it.

Roll-On Solar, Roll On Friday, May 5, 20170

Roll-On Solar, Roll On

A printable solar ink has been developed.

Epsilon Eridani Thursday, May 4, 20170

Epsilon Eridani

A new solar system spins 10 light years away.

Cassini's Grand Finale Wednesday, May 3, 20170

Cassini's Grand Finale

Through the rings and into Saturn at the mission's end.

EasyDNNNews

Ice Flow Animation Tuesday, May 2, 20170

Ice Flow Animation

24 years of satellite data was animated.

Polar Desert Island Monday, May 1, 20170

Polar Desert Island

Ellesmere glaciers look like flowing batter.

Rings & Black Holes Friday, April 28, 20170

Rings & Black Holes

Giovanni Cassini would be proud.

Test Driving GEOS-16 Thursday, April 27, 20170

Test Driving GEOS-16

GOES-16 tracks a major dust storm in a 'test drive'.

Denying Science Tuesday, April 25, 20170

Denying Science

Learn to reject 'magic beans'.

Penguins March for Science Sunday, April 23, 20170

Penguins March for Science

Penguins joined the March for Science.

Enjoy the View Saturday, April 22, 20170

Enjoy the View

An Earth Day animation from NASA

3 Earth Day Ideas Friday, April 21, 20170

3 Earth Day Ideas

Suggestions on how to participate.

Sierra Snowpack's, 2015-2017 Thursday, April 20, 20170

Sierra Snowpack's, 2015-2017

JPL applies science to water management.