Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Plant Intelligence

Plant Intelligence

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Monday, December 17, 2018/Categories: natural history, video, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week, plants

                              Light Directing Plant Roots Growth (micrograph credit: New Scientist)

Plants are capable of doing far more things than just being green and existing in a landscape. Forests can communicate between groves of individual trees; plants find ways to ecologcially claim and defend territory via chemistry (allelopathy); plants develop relationships for mutual benefit using fungal networks (mycorrhizae); and they have recently been observed to channel light down to their root tips allowing for growth in a directed fashion.

These are just a few examples of the "genius" seen in green plants and their evolution. While they may not have brains consisting of neurons, plants still operate in 'intelligent' ways. Humans would probably have also learned something useful, efficient, and important for survival as well if we were the result of over 500 million years of continuous evolution .

WHB

Print

Number of views (3423)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Appreciating Wild Species Wednesday, May 8, 20190

Appreciating Wild Species

Remember to appreciate wildlife.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.

Lost & Found Worlds Sunday, April 14, 20190

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rules: odd things evolve on islands.

Cane Toad Horrors Saturday, April 13, 20190

Cane Toad Horrors

'Frankentoads' of the amphibian world.

Tough Times for Bristlecones Thursday, April 11, 20190

Tough Times for Bristlecones

The trees may be reaching their limits.

First a Theory, Now a Fact Wednesday, April 10, 20190

First a Theory, Now a Fact

First black hole photographed.