EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Intelligence of Plants

Intelligence of Plants

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, August 8, 2017/Categories: natural history, video, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week, plants

                              Light Directing Plant Roots Growth (micrograph credit: New Scientist)

Plants are capable of doing far more things than just being green and sitting there.

Forests can communicate between groves of individual trees; they find ways to ecologcially claim and defend territory (allelopathy); plants develop relationships for mutual benefit with fungi (mycorrhizal networks); and they have recently been observed to channel light into their root tips allowing for growth in a directed fashion.

These are just a few examples of the genius seen in green plants. While they may not have brains consisting of neurons, plants still operate 'intelligently'. A person would probably have also learned something useful, efficient, and important for survival if you were the result of nearly 1 billion years of evolution yourself.

WHB

Print

Number of views (1871)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Taming the Beast Wednesday, May 9, 20180

Taming the Beast

Domesticating a wild fox takes years.

Vanilla Monday, May 7, 20180

Vanilla

Ice Cream and cyclones don't mix.

Off To Mars Saturday, May 5, 20180

Off To Mars

InSight Lander and CubeSats launched.
Robo-mussel To The Rescue Thursday, May 3, 20180

Robo-mussel To The Rescue

Robots are becoming essential ecology tools.

Io's Active Geology Wednesday, May 2, 20180

Io's Active Geology

Continuous events reshape Io.

Maps Are Beautiful Monday, April 30, 20180

Maps Are Beautiful

American rivers are visualized by GIS software.

ExoMars and the Trace Gas Orbiter Saturday, April 28, 20180

ExoMars and the Trace Gas Orbiter

Searching for exobiology on Mars.

Pollination, Plants, and the Art of Survival Friday, April 27, 20180

Pollination, Plants, and the Art of Survival

Flower pollination is captured in HD video.

World Penguin Day Thursday, April 26, 20180

World Penguin Day

A day to celebrate an iconic bird.

EasyDNNNews

China's Tidal River Wednesday, April 25, 20180

China's Tidal River

Qiantang River and a big surge.

Animating Environmental Change Tuesday, April 24, 20180

Animating Environmental Change

GIF's can tell important stories.

Want Sustainable Designs? ...think Biomimicry Monday, April 23, 20180

Want Sustainable Designs? ...think Biomimicry

Biomimicry offers endless ideas for sustainable design.

3 Earth Day Thoughts Sunday, April 22, 20180

3 Earth Day Thoughts

3 Perspectives for Earth Day 2018

World of Wonder Friday, April 20, 20180

World of Wonder

Reflections for Earrth Day.

Toxic Fog Thursday, April 19, 20180

Toxic Fog

Marine mercury found deposited on land by fogs.

TESS to Explore Exoplanets Wednesday, April 18, 20180

TESS to Explore Exoplanets

TESS the exoplanet hunter was launched.

Plastic-eating Enzyme Tuesday, April 17, 20180

Plastic-eating Enzyme

A plastic-eating bacteria has been discovered.

The Lives of Giant Trees Monday, April 16, 20180

The Lives of Giant Trees

Giant trees are still poorly understood.