Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Replanting Corals

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, May 17, 2017/Categories: wildlife conservation, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

While international climate meetings continue in Paris, some people are acting today to reverse the damage. An innovative marine program at the Caribbean Marine Biological Institute (CARMABI) is growing rare corals to restore damaged reefs today and build resilience for tomorrow.

  
             Star Coral Embryos and Juvenile Coral Transplant  (credit: Kristen Marhaver, CARMABI)
                                                                                   
Located on Curaçao, CARMABI remains the largest marine field station in the southern Caribbean. Dr.Kristen  Marhaver, a post-doctoral marine ecologist, is growing baby corals at the station for reef transplantation and testing their resilience under changing water conditions. She shared her innovative ecological program on coral re-establishment for a TED audience:



Hopefully, the Paris climate negotiators will note positive efforts already underway to build resilience and develop environmental restoration technologies today.

WHB

Print

Number of views (4073)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.