Replanting Corals RiledUp! Tag name Category name
Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Replanting Corals

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, May 17, 2017/Categories: wildlife conservation, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

While international climate meetings continue in Paris, some people are acting today to reverse the damage. An innovative marine program at the Caribbean Marine Biological Institute (CARMABI) is growing rare corals to restore damaged reefs today and build resilience for tomorrow.

  
             Star Coral Embryos and Juvenile Coral Transplant  (credit: Kristen Marhaver, CARMABI)
                                                                                   
Located on Curaçao, CARMABI remains the largest marine field station in the southern Caribbean. Dr.Kristen  Marhaver, a post-doctoral marine ecologist, is growing baby corals at the station for reef transplantation and testing their resilience under changing water conditions. She shared her innovative ecological program on coral re-establishment for a TED audience:



Hopefully, the Paris climate negotiators will note positive efforts already underway to build resilience and develop environmental restoration technologies today.

WHB

Print

Number of views (4630)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Where Does Creativity Come From? Sunday, November 24, 20190

Where Does Creativity Come From?

Creativity has a bit of magic.

Winning Isn't Everything Friday, November 22, 20190

Winning Isn't Everything

Ping-pong as life-lesson.

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots Thursday, November 21, 20190

Robo Reptiles and Slither Bots

Slither-bots created for Mars.

Europa's Water Monday, November 18, 20190

Europa's Water

Water vapor on a Jovian moon.

Koala Needing Rescue Saturday, November 16, 20190

Koala Needing Rescue

An injured animal hospital.

World Views Friday, November 15, 20190

World Views

The Earth in new perspectives.

If The Moon Was Another Planet? Thursday, November 14, 20190

If The Moon Was Another Planet?

If the moon were Saturn?

Mars Oxygen? Wednesday, November 13, 20190

Mars Oxygen?

Another Martian puzzle.

'Mandela's Gold' Tuesday, November 12, 20190

'Mandela's Gold'

A plant named for the human rights leader.

Master Huddlers Sunday, November 10, 20190

Master Huddlers

Penguins never cease to amaze.

Dam Down Friday, November 8, 20190

Dam Down

A 'deadbeat dam' comes down.

Re-photography Rules Thursday, November 7, 20190

Re-photography Rules

A poweful tool for visualizing change.

Low-cost Reforestation Wednesday, November 6, 20190

Low-cost Reforestation

Successful reforesation that 'works with nature'.

Curiosity's Photo Album Tuesday, November 5, 20190

Curiosity's Photo Album

Haunting landscapes on Mars.

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie! Monday, November 4, 20190

A Real Pinocchio Found...no lie!

Pinocchio lizard is no lie.

One Big Lava Lamp Sunday, November 3, 20190

One Big Lava Lamp

Ben Franklin would have loved Lava Lamps.

Juno update Friday, November 1, 20190

Juno update

Juno continues its Jupiter tour.

Halloween in Space Thursday, October 31, 20190

Halloween in Space

Re-imagining All Hallows' Day.