Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Replanting Corals

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, May 17, 2017/Categories: wildlife conservation, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

While international climate meetings continue in Paris, some people are acting today to reverse the damage. An innovative marine program at the Caribbean Marine Biological Institute (CARMABI) is growing rare corals to restore damaged reefs today and build resilience for tomorrow.

  
             Star Coral Embryos and Juvenile Coral Transplant  (credit: Kristen Marhaver, CARMABI)
                                                                                   
Located on Curaçao, CARMABI remains the largest marine field station in the southern Caribbean. Dr.Kristen  Marhaver, a post-doctoral marine ecologist, is growing baby corals at the station for reef transplantation and testing their resilience under changing water conditions. She shared her innovative ecological program on coral re-establishment for a TED audience:



Hopefully, the Paris climate negotiators will note positive efforts already underway to build resilience and develop environmental restoration technologies today.

WHB

Print

Number of views (3502)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Photography's Silent Drama Friday, February 8, 20190

Photography's Silent Drama

Sebastiao Salgado

Billion Dollar Disasters Wednesday, February 6, 20190

Billion Dollar Disasters

Extreme weather events are multiplying.

Earth's Driest Place Tuesday, February 5, 20190

Earth's Driest Place

The Atacama as Mars analog.

Risk Independence Sunday, February 3, 20190

Risk Independence

The new frontiers of Sundance storytelling.

Polar Extremes Friday, February 1, 20190

Polar Extremes

Bi-polar disorders.

Nepal Reflections Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Nepal Reflections

Remembrances from Nepal

Visualizing Climate Data Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Visualizing Climate Data

NASA & NOAA use illustration tools.

A Polar Vortex Descends Tuesday, January 29, 20190

A Polar Vortex Descends

Another extreme weather event.

Arctic Greening Monday, January 28, 20190

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening, and fast.

Melting Tundra Sunday, January 27, 20190

Melting Tundra

Permafrost can explode.

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains Friday, January 25, 20190

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains

Traveling by bus can be hazardous.

"The Garden of Eden Is No More" Wednesday, January 23, 20190

"The Garden of Eden Is No More"

David Attenborough interviewed at Davos forum.

Look & See Tuesday, January 22, 20190

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

The Power of Empathy Monday, January 21, 20190

The Power of Empathy

Animating empathy.
Archaeology from Space Sunday, January 20, 20190

Archaeology from Space

Rmote-sensing for finding lost cities.

George the Poet on Climate Change Saturday, January 19, 20190

George the Poet on Climate Change

A poet takes on climate change.

Poseidon is Watching Thursday, January 17, 20190

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches his domain.

Interactive Earth Wednesday, January 16, 20190

Interactive Earth

Mapping planetary changes.