Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Replanting Corals

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, May 17, 2017/Categories: wildlife conservation, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

While international climate meetings continue in Paris, some people are acting today to reverse the damage. An innovative marine program at the Caribbean Marine Biological Institute (CARMABI) is growing rare corals to restore damaged reefs today and build resilience for tomorrow.

  
             Star Coral Embryos and Juvenile Coral Transplant  (credit: Kristen Marhaver, CARMABI)
                                                                                   
Located on Curaçao, CARMABI remains the largest marine field station in the southern Caribbean. Dr.Kristen  Marhaver, a post-doctoral marine ecologist, is growing baby corals at the station for reef transplantation and testing their resilience under changing water conditions. She shared her innovative ecological program on coral re-establishment for a TED audience:



Hopefully, the Paris climate negotiators will note positive efforts already underway to build resilience and develop environmental restoration technologies today.

WHB

Print

Number of views (3831)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Appreciating Wild Species Wednesday, May 8, 20190

Appreciating Wild Species

Remember to appreciate wildlife.
6th Extinction Tuesday, May 7, 20190

6th Extinction

Losses rapid in biodiversity.

Laser Forestry Monday, May 6, 20190

Laser Forestry

GEDI to the rescue.

Cyclone Fani Friday, May 3, 20190

Cyclone Fani

Satellite mapping a super-Cyclone.

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code Wednesday, May 1, 20190

Sea Level Rise by Zip Code

Living on a coast, sea level rise should be of interest.

Art from Space Monday, April 29, 20190

Art from Space

Photography is an essential tool of exploration.

Intelligent Designers Saturday, April 27, 20190

Intelligent Designers

Portland replaces coal with intelligence.

George Saunders on Kindness Friday, April 26, 20190

George Saunders on Kindness

Kindness is a trait everyone should try to practice.

Selfies Can Be Amazing Thursday, April 25, 20190

Selfies Can Be Amazing

Selfies can be amazing.

10 Ideas for any Earth Day Wednesday, April 24, 20190

10 Ideas for any Earth Day

Every day should be Earth Day!

Earth Day, Every Day Monday, April 22, 20190

Earth Day, Every Day

Earth Day 2019

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency! Sunday, April 21, 20190

Efficiency, Efficiency, & Efficiency!

Energy efficiency is the 'name of the game'.

Botany, an Extreme Sport Wednesday, April 17, 20190

Botany, an Extreme Sport

Climbing gear serving plant conservation.

Chasing Water With Gabions Tuesday, April 16, 20190

Chasing Water With Gabions

An appropriate river restoration technology.

Lost & Found Worlds Sunday, April 14, 20190

Lost & Found Worlds

Biogeography rules: odd things evolve on islands.

Cane Toad Horrors Saturday, April 13, 20190

Cane Toad Horrors

'Frankentoads' of the amphibian world.

Tough Times for Bristlecones Thursday, April 11, 20190

Tough Times for Bristlecones

The trees may be reaching their limits.

First a Theory, Now a Fact Wednesday, April 10, 20190

First a Theory, Now a Fact

First black hole photographed.