Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Crazy Engineering: the Gecko Gripper

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Monday, October 30, 2017/Categories: video, space science, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

 

                                
                                 Gecko Foot "Gripper" Sticking to Glass  (credit: Wiki-commons)

Over millions of eons, evolution has tailored adaptations to environments everywhere on Earth. Engineers are now adapting some of the most successful designs using bio-mimicry as a guide. Designers at CalTech's Jet Propulsion Laboratory are looking closely at the feet of geckos, lizards who can climb upside down, to tailor their new Gecko Gripper robots to crawl over Mars and anywhere else needed.

"Crazy Engineering" at JPL for sure and very intelligent as well: 



WHB

 

Print

Number of views (2052)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Open Passage Tuesday, July 31, 20180

Open Passage

Mid-21st Century predictions of an open Arctic need revision.

Empathetic Whales Sunday, July 29, 20180

Empathetic Whales

Whales seem to show empathy towards other species.

Project Drawdown Thursday, July 26, 20180

Project Drawdown

Paul Hawken has a new mission, climate change.

A Renewable Energy System Monday, July 23, 20180

A Renewable Energy System

Carbon-free power systems may be possible.

Titan Revealed Saturday, July 21, 20180

Titan Revealed

Titan's surface has been revealed.

NOAA's Mapper Thursday, July 19, 20180

NOAA's Mapper

NOAA's GOES satellites produce fine maps.

'Mini-Moons' Wednesday, July 18, 20180

'Mini-Moons'

79 moons and counting

The Playful Wonderland Monday, July 16, 20180

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Of Rats & Reefs Sunday, July 15, 20180

Of Rats & Reefs

Remove rats...restore reefs!

Fire Season Friday, July 13, 20180

Fire Season

Raging fires in Colorado.

Field Work Thursday, July 12, 20180

Field Work

Cross disciplinary now defines field work.

Batfish Chorus Line Tuesday, July 10, 20180

Batfish Chorus Line

Taping a fish 'sing-a-long'.

Mapping Hidden Landscapes Monday, July 9, 20180

Mapping Hidden Landscapes

With LiDAR creating maps limited only by the imagination.

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish Saturday, July 7, 20180

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish

Paul Greenberg discusses over-eating 4 fish.

 

Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.