Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Conservatives and Conservation

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Thursday, November 2, 2017/Categories: natural history, wildlife conservation, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

 

“You’re worried about what man has done and is doing to this magical planet that God gave us, and I share your concern. What is a conservative after all, but one who conserves?” — President Ronald Reagan

Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left environmental legacies that can be celebrated: Roosevelt for the Forest Service, the National Park Service, and Antiquities Act; Nixon for the Clean Air, Water, and Endangered Species Acts; and Bush for a major marine protected area in the Pacific Ocean.

What are the chances for such conservation initiatives today? A group called  Conservatives for Responsible Stewardship  believe it can still occur. Let's hope so.


     Environmental Statements by Republican Presidents (credit: CRS

 

 

WHB

Print

Number of views (3233)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.