Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Conservatives and Conservation

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Thursday, November 2, 2017/Categories: natural history, wildlife conservation, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

 

“You’re worried about what man has done and is doing to this magical planet that God gave us, and I share your concern. What is a conservative after all, but one who conserves?” — President Ronald Reagan

Republican presidents from Theodore Roosevelt, to Richard Nixon, through George W. Bush left environmental legacies that can be celebrated: Roosevelt for the Forest Service, the National Park Service, and Antiquities Act; Nixon for the Clean Air, Water, and Endangered Species Acts; and Bush for a major marine protected area in the Pacific Ocean.

What are the chances for such conservation initiatives today? A group called  Conservatives for Responsible Stewardship  believe it can still occur. Let's hope so.


     Environmental Statements by Republican Presidents (credit: CRS

 

 

WHB

Print

Number of views (2164)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Open Passage Tuesday, July 31, 20180

Open Passage

Mid-21st Century predictions of an open Arctic need revision.

Empathetic Whales Sunday, July 29, 20180

Empathetic Whales

Whales seem to show empathy towards other species.

Project Drawdown Thursday, July 26, 20180

Project Drawdown

Paul Hawken has a new mission, climate change.

A Renewable Energy System Monday, July 23, 20180

A Renewable Energy System

Carbon-free power systems may be possible.

Titan Revealed Saturday, July 21, 20180

Titan Revealed

Titan's surface has been revealed.

NOAA's Mapper Thursday, July 19, 20180

NOAA's Mapper

NOAA's GOES satellites produce fine maps.

'Mini-Moons' Wednesday, July 18, 20180

'Mini-Moons'

79 moons and counting

The Playful Wonderland Monday, July 16, 20180

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Of Rats & Reefs Sunday, July 15, 20180

Of Rats & Reefs

Remove rats...restore reefs!

Fire Season Friday, July 13, 20180

Fire Season

Raging fires in Colorado.

Field Work Thursday, July 12, 20180

Field Work

Cross disciplinary now defines field work.

Batfish Chorus Line Tuesday, July 10, 20180

Batfish Chorus Line

Taping a fish 'sing-a-long'.

Mapping Hidden Landscapes Monday, July 9, 20180

Mapping Hidden Landscapes

With LiDAR creating maps limited only by the imagination.

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish Saturday, July 7, 20180

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish

Paul Greenberg discusses over-eating 4 fish.

 

Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.