Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate Turtles

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, June 20, 2018/Categories: natural history, wildlife conservation, video, marine life, sustainability, environment

From time to time, a group of Tibetan monks in exile pass through my city. They create complicated paintings of sand, visit people in hospice care to perform a solemn chant, and give lectures on living a compassionate life. The monks often speak about environmental matters and inform their listeners that animals are 'sentient beings' like themselves. Anyone who lives with a dog or a cat certainly understands their animal companions have senses they don't understand. For other creatures this becomes more of a challenge to appreciate.

A remarkable video was captured in a wildlife enclosure where a tortoise helped his overturned friend---who would have died from suffocation---to become properly righted.



In humans, the selfless act by the turtle would represent a perfect example of 'compassion in action'. Animal behavior and psychology research is an ever-expanding field. Perhaps the researchers should ask the monks to give them some of their insights on animals.

WHB

Print

Number of views (12037)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.

History of Consumerism Saturday, June 30, 20180

History of Consumerism

Alain de Botton: a history of consumerism and a possible future.
The Secret Point of Travel Friday, June 29, 20180

The Secret Point of Travel

What we know is less than we thought.

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered Wednesday, June 27, 20180

Extraterrestrial Physics Decifered

The physics of ice cycloids explained.

Conserving, the Mother Load Tuesday, June 26, 20180

Conserving, the Mother Load

Avoiding another Dust Bowl.

Kilauea Observed Monday, June 25, 20180

Kilauea Observed

Lava seen from the space station.

Washed Ashore Sunday, June 24, 20180

Washed Ashore

Art used to save the oceans.

Climate Change Stripes Friday, June 22, 20180

Climate Change Stripes

'Climate Pins' coming soon.

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3 Thursday, June 21, 20180

Intelligent Designers, vol. 3

Creative thinking of intelligent designers.

Compassionate Turtles Wednesday, June 20, 20180

Compassionate Turtles

Compassionate behavior can be seen in animals.

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea Monday, June 18, 20180

Kilauea Update, From Vent to Sea

A 'lava river' into the Ocean.

Rubber Plant Sunday, June 17, 20180

Rubber Plant

A desert plant begins to realize its potential.

Water Crisis Friday, June 15, 20180

Water Crisis

Water supply thresholds.

Re-imagining Work Wednesday, June 13, 20180

Re-imagining Work

Being mindful and re-imagining work can be the key to unlocking creativity and productivity at the same time.
The Ancients Are Dying Tuesday, June 12, 20180

The Ancients Are Dying

Baobabs are in trouble.