Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Intelligent Designers

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 17, 2015/Categories: video, sustainability, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Alternative energy technologies like solar, wind, and hydro-power as well as engineering efficiency offer huge commercial and job opportunities for sustainability energy production. Creative designers and engineers are essential to these technologies that can replace coal-fired power generation without disrupting lifestyles, trade, or the environment..

An exciting example was highlighted by a PBS report from Oregon on a company,  Lucid Energy , that has developed a very creative and innovative approach to harvesting the latent energy in any municipal water supply. By installing micro-turbines in Portland's water pipes, 'intelligent designers' have provided a productive and way of replacing electricity from an aging coal-fired power plant. The Lucid system simply requires people to turn-on-their-taps. The Portland system have been so successful the Company is now expanding to other cities.

                                 
                                    Micro-hydro Turbines for Municipal Water Pipes (credit: Lucid Energy)

Here is the PBS report on the micro-hydro power system now operating in Portland. This is one activity the hipsters of Portlandia can't make jokes about and it should be copied across America.




WHB
Print

Number of views (9142)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
New Years Flyby Tuesday, January 1, 20190

New Years Flyby

A robotic explorer beyond the known frontier.

Caving on Mars Monday, December 31, 20180

Caving on Mars

Living underground on Mars.

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2 Saturday, December 29, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, Update 2

Krakatau is again active.

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Friday, December 28, 20180

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program for fossil fuel sobriety.

A Rover's Photo Album Thursday, December 27, 20180

A Rover's Photo Album

Martian geology seen by Curiosity. 

A Frozen Crater Lake Tuesday, December 25, 20180

A Frozen Crater Lake

A lake on Mars.

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space Friday, December 21, 20180

A Grand Oasis in the Vastness of Space

A photograph that changed perceptions.

Surf's Up, Way Up Wednesday, December 19, 20180

Surf's Up, Way Up

Stay well back!

Rare Bird Rediscovered Tuesday, December 18, 20180

Rare Bird Rediscovered

Rediscovered cloud forest species.

Plant Intelligence Monday, December 17, 20180

Plant Intelligence

An understanding of intelligence in plants.

Plant of the Month Saturday, December 15, 20180

Plant of the Month

An occasional series of botanical treats.

Life on Mars, 2020 Thursday, December 13, 20180

Life on Mars, 2020

A new Mars rover will search for past life.

Arctic Report Card Wednesday, December 12, 20180

Arctic Report Card

Arctic changes make records again.

Goodbye Voyager 2 Monday, December 10, 20180

Goodbye Voyager 2

Voyager 2 enters interstellar space

A Volcano & Climate Change Sunday, December 9, 20180

A Volcano & Climate Change

A Canadian volcano re-awakens.
Australia's Solar Battery Success Friday, December 7, 20180

Australia's Solar Battery Success

Tesla battery saved $40million in 1st year.

Breakthrough Energy Wednesday, December 5, 20180

Breakthrough Energy

Funding renewable energy breakthroughs.
Cryosphere Explorers Monday, December 3, 20180

Cryosphere Explorers

Glaciers and sea level rise.