Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Intelligent Designers

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Friday, April 17, 2015/Categories: video, sustainability, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Alternative energy technologies like solar, wind, and hydro-power as well as engineering efficiency offer huge commercial and job opportunities for sustainability energy production. Creative designers and engineers are essential to these technologies that can replace coal-fired power generation without disrupting lifestyles, trade, or the environment..

An exciting example was highlighted by a PBS report from Oregon on a company,  Lucid Energy , that has developed a very creative and innovative approach to harvesting the latent energy in any municipal water supply. By installing micro-turbines in Portland's water pipes, 'intelligent designers' have provided a productive and way of replacing electricity from an aging coal-fired power plant. The Lucid system simply requires people to turn-on-their-taps. The Portland system have been so successful the Company is now expanding to other cities.

                                 
                                    Micro-hydro Turbines for Municipal Water Pipes (credit: Lucid Energy)

Here is the PBS report on the micro-hydro power system now operating in Portland. This is one activity the hipsters of Portlandia can't make jokes about and it should be copied across America.




WHB
Print

Number of views (5301)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
TCA Awards, Winter 2017 Sunday, April 9, 20170

TCA Awards, Winter 2017

20 Environmental organizations received conservation awards.

When a Chalk Dam Burst Friday, April 7, 20170

When a Chalk Dam Burst

The 1st Brexit was a dam bursting.

Time to Reconsider Geoengineering? Wednesday, April 5, 20170

Time to Reconsider Geoengineering?

Has the time arrived for geoengineering?

Landforms & Walls Tuesday, April 4, 20170

Landforms & Walls

Landforms complicate the building of walls.

Nurture or Nature? Sunday, April 2, 20170

Nurture or Nature?

Environmental influences on genetics and behavior.

Super Coral...a Super Hero? Friday, March 31, 20170

Super Coral...a Super Hero?

Heat-tolerant corals may help reef restoration.

Martian Tsunamis Thursday, March 30, 20170

Martian Tsunamis

Gigantic waves carved Martian shorelines.

Cloud Tops Wednesday, March 29, 20170

Cloud Tops

JUNO captures abstract cloud photo.

Cyclone Debbie Monday, March 27, 20170

Cyclone Debbie

Cyclone Debbie takes aim at Queensland.

For The Ages: National Parks Sunday, March 26, 20170

For The Ages: National Parks

A 360-degree tribute to national parks.

Cryovolcanoes Friday, March 24, 20170

Cryovolcanoes

Ice-volcanoes on Earth?

Cloud Atlas Thursday, March 23, 20170

Cloud Atlas

A new Cloud Atlas was released.

Ocean Heat Map Tuesday, March 21, 20170

Ocean Heat Map

An ocean heat-stress map of Australia was created by NASA & NOAA.
Project Drawdown Monday, March 20, 20170

Project Drawdown

Paul Hawken takes on a new mission, climate change.

Coral Reef Update, 3 Saturday, March 18, 20170

Coral Reef Update, 3

Explaining the biology and consequences of coral bleaching.

Be an ROV Explorer Friday, March 17, 20170

Be an ROV Explorer

Be your own DIY explorer.

River Rights Wednesday, March 15, 20170

River Rights

A river now has rights.

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor Tuesday, March 14, 20170

Mysteries on the Ocean Floor

Seamounts maintain gardens of ancient corals.