Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Compassion and other creatures

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, November 5, 2017/Categories: natural history, wildlife conservation, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Anyone who owns a dog, a cat, or a bird recognizes they have modes and behaviors that mimic what we would call emotions. What about compassion? That's a trait we humans tend to believe is unique to Homo sapiens.

The Buddhists speak of sentient beings as denoting any creatures with consciousness or self-awareness.and the dalai lama has often said that expressions of compassion are the best examples of such deliberate acts..A short video captured by a random East African tour group shows that the definition definitely now needs to be include some other creatures than ourselves.




Now the hard part begins to try and piece together the scientific and psychological basis for animal behaviors that fit the definition of sentient and compassionate beings.

WHB
 

Print

Number of views (4655)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
River Restoration and the Market Wednesday, July 10, 20190

River Restoration and the Market

River restoration is both economically and ecologically important.
Bobbing Boulders Monday, July 8, 20190

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Plant Trees Sunday, July 7, 20190

Plant Trees

Planting tress as a climate change solution.

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics Friday, July 5, 20190

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics

Radiological research could have a solution.

On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.