Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Think Green

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Saturday, December 2, 2017/Categories: natural history, photography, environment, Archive Pick of the Week, plants

Friends recently returned from two weeks sitting on an isolated beach where all they heard was the sound of waves and the rustling of leaves leaves. They couldn't get over how green everything was. With the exception of California, Florida, and a few other states, it is more white than green. A couple of rainforest images may add a nice bit of color to  your views.

 
The Daintree Rainforest ferns and Palms, Queensland (credit: SWP Media, Inc.)

It is important to "Think Green" at this white time of year.

WHB

Print

Number of views (3674)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Bad for Bees Tuesday, October 9, 20180

Bad for Bees

Pesticides are 'bad for bees'.

Liquefied Soils Monday, October 8, 20180

Liquefied Soils

An Indonesian mountain just liquefied.
Colorado's Black Canyon Saturday, October 6, 20180

Colorado's Black Canyon

Landscape scale preservation.

Information is Beautiful Thursday, October 4, 20180

Information is Beautiful

'Big Data' visuals are beautiful and increase understanding.
A 21st Century 'Corps of Discovery' Wednesday, October 3, 20180

A 21st Century 'Corps of Discovery'

Citizen scientists exploring for exoplanets.

Juno as Monet Monday, October 1, 20180

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

A 'Lost Crop' Could Change Africa Saturday, September 29, 20180

A 'Lost Crop' Could Change Africa

An African plan for a 'lost crop'.

Bennie the Beluga Wednesday, September 26, 20180

Bennie the Beluga

A rare whale visits London.

Krakatoa Awakens Monday, September 24, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens

Krakatoa is again active.

Pollution from Hurricane Florence Friday, September 21, 20180

Pollution from Hurricane Florence

Water pollution seen from space.

Europa Clipper Funded Wednesday, September 19, 20180

Europa Clipper Funded

A new 'voyage of discovery' is coming.

Global Fishing Watch Monday, September 17, 20180

Global Fishing Watch

Big data maps expose illegal fishing.

Origin of Life Mapping Sunday, September 16, 20180

Origin of Life Mapping

Trying to answering the question, how did life begin?

Hurricane Florence in 3D Friday, September 14, 20180

Hurricane Florence in 3D

Viewing a super-storm in 3D.

Eyes In The Sky Wednesday, September 12, 20180

Eyes In The Sky

Storm surge and rainfall totals increased.

Florence Approaches Monday, September 10, 20180

Florence Approaches

A super-storm is approaching.

JPL Receives An Emmy Sunday, September 9, 20180

JPL Receives An Emmy

JPL receives new award.

Hurricane Train Sunday, September 9, 20180

Hurricane Train

A "train wreck" could soon happen.