Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Whales & Drones

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, October 31, 2017/Categories: natural history, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Marine mammals like orcas, dolphins, and whales are hard to follow in boats so as not to disrupt their feeding, breaching, and other social activities. Remotely controlled drones provide a good alternative and can capture animal behavior without any disturbance. Such was the case when pods of humpback whales in Prince William Sound were observed by a research vessel in Alaska. The crew used a drone to watch cooperative  bubble net feeding behavior  among humpback whales, a phenomenon unique to Alaska. If the whales noticed the drone, they probably thought it was some strange bird and went along with their business.


Humpback Whales Feeding in Alaska (credit: Outer Shores Expeditions )

The drone saw the whales feeding but it wasn't able to pick up their famous underwater harmonies.

WHB  

Print

Number of views (7179)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Bad for Bees Tuesday, October 9, 20180

Bad for Bees

Pesticides are 'bad for bees'.

Liquefied Soils Monday, October 8, 20180

Liquefied Soils

An Indonesian mountain just liquefied.
Colorado's Black Canyon Saturday, October 6, 20180

Colorado's Black Canyon

Landscape scale preservation.

Information is Beautiful Thursday, October 4, 20180

Information is Beautiful

'Big Data' visuals are beautiful and increase understanding.
A 21st Century 'Corps of Discovery' Wednesday, October 3, 20180

A 21st Century 'Corps of Discovery'

Citizen scientists exploring for exoplanets.

Juno as Monet Monday, October 1, 20180

Juno as Monet

Jupiter as an impressionist painting.

A 'Lost Crop' Could Change Africa Saturday, September 29, 20180

A 'Lost Crop' Could Change Africa

An African plan for a 'lost crop'.

Bennie the Beluga Wednesday, September 26, 20180

Bennie the Beluga

A rare whale visits London.

Krakatoa Awakens Monday, September 24, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens

Krakatoa is again active.

Pollution from Hurricane Florence Friday, September 21, 20180

Pollution from Hurricane Florence

Water pollution seen from space.

Europa Clipper Funded Wednesday, September 19, 20180

Europa Clipper Funded

A new 'voyage of discovery' is coming.

Global Fishing Watch Monday, September 17, 20180

Global Fishing Watch

Big data maps expose illegal fishing.

Origin of Life Mapping Sunday, September 16, 20180

Origin of Life Mapping

Trying to answering the question, how did life begin?

Hurricane Florence in 3D Friday, September 14, 20180

Hurricane Florence in 3D

Viewing a super-storm in 3D.

Eyes In The Sky Wednesday, September 12, 20180

Eyes In The Sky

Storm surge and rainfall totals increased.

Florence Approaches Monday, September 10, 20180

Florence Approaches

A super-storm is approaching.

JPL Receives An Emmy Sunday, September 9, 20180

JPL Receives An Emmy

JPL receives new award.

Hurricane Train Sunday, September 9, 20180

Hurricane Train

A "train wreck" could soon happen.