Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Whales & Drones

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, October 31, 2017/Categories: natural history, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Marine mammals like orcas, dolphins, and whales are hard to follow in boats so as not to disrupt their feeding, breaching, and other social activities. Remotely controlled drones provide a good alternative and can capture animal behavior without any disturbance. Such was the case when pods of humpback whales in Prince William Sound were observed by a research vessel in Alaska. The crew used a drone to watch cooperative  bubble net feeding behavior  among humpback whales, a phenomenon unique to Alaska. If the whales noticed the drone, they probably thought it was some strange bird and went along with their business.


Humpback Whales Feeding in Alaska (credit: Outer Shores Expeditions )

The drone saw the whales feeding but it wasn't able to pick up their famous underwater harmonies.

WHB  

Print

Number of views (8965)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.