Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Whales & Drones

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, October 31, 2017/Categories: natural history, video, marine life, sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Marine mammals like orcas, dolphins, and whales are hard to follow in boats so as not to disrupt their feeding, breaching, and other social activities. Remotely controlled drones provide a good alternative and can capture animal behavior without any disturbance. Such was the case when pods of humpback whales in Prince William Sound were observed by a research vessel in Alaska. The crew used a drone to watch cooperative  bubble net feeding behavior  among humpback whales, a phenomenon unique to Alaska. If the whales noticed the drone, they probably thought it was some strange bird and went along with their business.


Humpback Whales Feeding in Alaska (credit: Outer Shores Expeditions )

The drone saw the whales feeding but it wasn't able to pick up their famous underwater harmonies.

WHB  

Print

Number of views (7461)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Saturday, November 24, 20180

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

My Life As A Turkey Wednesday, November 21, 20180

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story for Thanksgiving.

A New Tree of Life Tuesday, November 20, 20180

A New Tree of Life

Where are you on the Tree of Life?
The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe Sunday, November 18, 20180

The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe

Potentially a renewable energy breakthrough.

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine Friday, November 16, 20180

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine

Phages may come to the rescue.

Acid Lakes Wednesday, November 14, 20180

Acid Lakes

No swimming in the lake.

Remembrance Poppies Monday, November 12, 20180

Remembrance Poppies

Using poppies to remember.

Orion Rising Sunday, November 11, 20180

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the constellations.
Alpine Indicators Saturday, November 10, 20180

Alpine Indicators

Biological indicators are migrating uphill fast.

Wood Wide Web Thursday, November 8, 20180

Wood Wide Web

Trees "talk" to each other.

Animating Ice Tuesday, November 6, 20180

Animating Ice

What would Greenland look without ice?

Time fo VOTE Monday, November 5, 20180

Time fo VOTE

Time for you to Vote!

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day Saturday, November 3, 20180

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day

A day to honor a national symbol.

Light Painting Friday, November 2, 20180

Light Painting

Nature creates a 'light painting'.

Very Old and Very Alive Thursday, November 1, 20180

Very Old and Very Alive

How old is old?

Tropical Dry Forests Wednesday, October 31, 20180

Tropical Dry Forests

Tropical dry forests in Latin America explained.

The Purple Plague Monday, October 29, 20180

The Purple Plague

California's purple plague.

Krakatoa Awakens, an update Sunday, October 28, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, an update

Krakatoa is again active.