Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Rewilding

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, September 4, 2018/Categories: natural history, sustainability, environment, adventure , Archive Pick of the Week

It's unlikely wooly mammoths will again be in the Arctic but the success of wolves released back to the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem showed how tropic cascades can be reestablished. Rewilding  is an exciting idea from conservation biology now gaining traction. The concept envisions taking degraded landscapes and restoring them to a wild state by directed interventions, usually by reintroducing a top ecosystem component, a predator or grazer, that affects everything below. George Monbiot, an environmental writer for The Guardian newspaper, explains the idea in a short video.


             George Monbiot on Rewilding (credit: TED conferences)


It is nice thought that a 'silent spring' could lead to a 'wild summer'.

WHB

Print

Number of views (3894)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Where Do Good Ideas Come From? Saturday, November 24, 20180

Where Do Good Ideas Come From?

A storyteller suggests an answer.

My Life As A Turkey Wednesday, November 21, 20180

My Life As A Turkey

A true turkey story for Thanksgiving.

A New Tree of Life Tuesday, November 20, 20180

A New Tree of Life

Where are you on the Tree of Life?
The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe Sunday, November 18, 20180

The Future is in Hydrogen...maybe

Potentially a renewable energy breakthrough.

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine Friday, November 16, 20180

Forgotten Microbe Could Transform Medicine

Phages may come to the rescue.

Acid Lakes Wednesday, November 14, 20180

Acid Lakes

No swimming in the lake.

Remembrance Poppies Monday, November 12, 20180

Remembrance Poppies

Using poppies to remember.

Orion Rising Sunday, November 11, 20180

Orion Rising

The Greeks named the constellations.
Alpine Indicators Saturday, November 10, 20180

Alpine Indicators

Biological indicators are migrating uphill fast.

Wood Wide Web Thursday, November 8, 20180

Wood Wide Web

Trees "talk" to each other.

Animating Ice Tuesday, November 6, 20180

Animating Ice

What would Greenland look without ice?

Time fo VOTE Monday, November 5, 20180

Time fo VOTE

Time for you to Vote!

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day Saturday, November 3, 20180

Bison Restoration on National Bison Day

A day to honor a national symbol.

Light Painting Friday, November 2, 20180

Light Painting

Nature creates a 'light painting'.

Very Old and Very Alive Thursday, November 1, 20180

Very Old and Very Alive

How old is old?

Tropical Dry Forests Wednesday, October 31, 20180

Tropical Dry Forests

Tropical dry forests in Latin America explained.

The Purple Plague Monday, October 29, 20180

The Purple Plague

California's purple plague.

Krakatoa Awakens, an update Sunday, October 28, 20180

Krakatoa Awakens, an update

Krakatoa is again active.