Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Rewilding

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Tuesday, September 4, 2018/Categories: natural history, sustainability, environment, adventure , Archive Pick of the Week

It's unlikely wooly mammoths will again be in the Arctic but the success of wolves released back to the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem showed how tropic cascades can be reestablished. Rewilding  is an exciting idea from conservation biology now gaining traction. The concept envisions taking degraded landscapes and restoring them to a wild state by directed interventions, usually by reintroducing a top ecosystem component, a predator or grazer, that affects everything below. George Monbiot, an environmental writer for The Guardian newspaper, explains the idea in a short video.


             George Monbiot on Rewilding (credit: TED conferences)


It is nice thought that a 'silent spring' could lead to a 'wild summer'.

WHB

Print

Number of views (4179)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Photography's Silent Drama Friday, February 8, 20190

Photography's Silent Drama

Sebastiao Salgado

Billion Dollar Disasters Wednesday, February 6, 20190

Billion Dollar Disasters

Extreme weather events are multiplying.

Earth's Driest Place Tuesday, February 5, 20190

Earth's Driest Place

The Atacama as Mars analog.

Risk Independence Sunday, February 3, 20190

Risk Independence

The new frontiers of Sundance storytelling.

Polar Extremes Friday, February 1, 20190

Polar Extremes

Bi-polar disorders.

Nepal Reflections Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Nepal Reflections

Remembrances from Nepal

Visualizing Climate Data Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Visualizing Climate Data

NASA & NOAA use illustration tools.

A Polar Vortex Descends Tuesday, January 29, 20190

A Polar Vortex Descends

Another extreme weather event.

Arctic Greening Monday, January 28, 20190

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening, and fast.

Melting Tundra Sunday, January 27, 20190

Melting Tundra

Permafrost can explode.

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains Friday, January 25, 20190

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains

Traveling by bus can be hazardous.

"The Garden of Eden Is No More" Wednesday, January 23, 20190

"The Garden of Eden Is No More"

David Attenborough interviewed at Davos forum.

Look & See Tuesday, January 22, 20190

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

The Power of Empathy Monday, January 21, 20190

The Power of Empathy

Animating empathy.
Archaeology from Space Sunday, January 20, 20190

Archaeology from Space

Rmote-sensing for finding lost cities.

George the Poet on Climate Change Saturday, January 19, 20190

George the Poet on Climate Change

A poet takes on climate change.

Poseidon is Watching Thursday, January 17, 20190

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches his domain.

Interactive Earth Wednesday, January 16, 20190

Interactive Earth

Mapping planetary changes.