EasyDNNNews

EasyDNNNews

Banners

EasyDNNNews

Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

My Life As A Turkey

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Thursday, November 23, 2017/Categories: natural history, video, birds, art and design, adventure , Archive Pick of the Week

If you thought turkeys were just butterballs in the Thanksgiving oven, think again.

PBS/Nature explored the story of a wildlife researcher and author, Joe Hutto, as he learns about intelligence in turkeys, social imprinting, and how to communicate with these wild birds. You won't think about turkeys the same way again and might even learn to speak a few words of turkey yourself.

“Had I known what was in store—the difficult nature of the study and the time I was about to invest—I would have been hard pressed to justify such an intense involvement. But, fortunately, I naively allowed myself to blunder into a two-year commitment that was at once exhausting, often overwhelming, enlightening, and one of the most inspiring and satisfying experiences of my life.”  –Joe Hutto, Illumination in the Flatwoods

Here is Joe Hutto's remarkable true story retold on PBS/Nature:  My Life As A Turkey  

WHB

Print

Number of views (4906)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x

Open Passage Tuesday, July 31, 20180

Open Passage

Mid-21st Century predictions of an open Arctic need revision.

Empathetic Whales Sunday, July 29, 20180

Empathetic Whales

Whales seem to show empathy towards other species.

Project Drawdown Thursday, July 26, 20180

Project Drawdown

Paul Hawken has a new mission, climate change.

A Renewable Energy System Monday, July 23, 20180

A Renewable Energy System

Carbon-free power systems may be possible.

Titan Revealed Saturday, July 21, 20180

Titan Revealed

Titan's surface has been revealed.

NOAA's Mapper Thursday, July 19, 20180

NOAA's Mapper

NOAA's GOES satellites produce fine maps.

'Mini-Moons' Wednesday, July 18, 20180

'Mini-Moons'

79 moons and counting

The Playful Wonderland Monday, July 16, 20180

The Playful Wonderland

From fire to photographs.

Of Rats & Reefs Sunday, July 15, 20180

Of Rats & Reefs

Remove rats...restore reefs!

EasyDNNNews

Fire Season Friday, July 13, 20180

Fire Season

Raging fires in Colorado.

Field Work Thursday, July 12, 20180

Field Work

Cross disciplinary now defines field work.

Batfish Chorus Line Tuesday, July 10, 20180

Batfish Chorus Line

Taping a fish 'sing-a-long'.

Mapping Hidden Landscapes Monday, July 9, 20180

Mapping Hidden Landscapes

With LiDAR creating maps limited only by the imagination.

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish Saturday, July 7, 20180

Paul Greenberg: The Consequences of Over-eating 4 Fish

Paul Greenberg discusses over-eating 4 fish.

 

Chasing Water Friday, July 6, 20180

Chasing Water

River restoration by appropriate technology.

4th of July Wednesday, July 4, 20180

4th of July

Sunrise 4th celebration!

Weather Report Tuesday, July 3, 20180

Weather Report

The climate "signals" are flasing.

Ecology Lessons, 1 Monday, July 2, 20180

Ecology Lessons, 1

The Dutch demonstrate of coastal ecology in action.