Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Patagonia and Sustainability

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, December 31, 2017/Categories: wildlife conservation, sustainability, art and design, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Many long-time customers of the outdoor clothing company, Patagonia, appreciate the Company's approach to quality products and an ethic of working towards building  sustainability  into their business practices. The Company has now embarked on a venture assisting homeowners in Hawaii to generate their own solar power and thereby reducing imported oil and carbon pollution in the Islands. In announcing the new initiative, Patagonia's CEO said:

"Any U.S. public or private company who pays their fair share of taxes can use this strategy to speed up the development of new energy infrastructure and they can make money at the same time."

Under a program Patagonia established the $20 Million & Change Fund solar installations will be offered to Hawaiian homeowners at no cost. They will be charged a monthly fee for the energy generated but this will be less than half their current utility bill expenses. Like so many of the other initiatives the Company has undertaken, this new solar project will likely prove a success as well. This is putting the concept of building sustainability into direct business practice. If you're in the market for some winter clothing, one the outdoor outlet might be worth a bit of shopping.

WHB

 

Print

Number of views (6820)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Fashion Accessory Wednesday, September 5, 20180

Fashion Accessory

Lionfish as a fashion statement.

Rewilding Tuesday, September 4, 20180

Rewilding

A 'silent spring' could become a 'wild summer' 
Auroras Animated Sunday, September 2, 20180

Auroras Animated

Saturn's auroras imaged by Hubble.

Global Weirding Report Friday, August 31, 20180

Global Weirding Report

Climate change now unfolds in 'real time'.

The Atlas of Emotions Thursday, August 30, 20180

The Atlas of Emotions

The Dalai Lama says: "if you want to find a new world, you need a map".
Save the Oceans, Feed the world Wednesday, August 29, 20180

Save the Oceans, Feed the world

The Oceans are hurting.

in vino veritas Tuesday, August 28, 20180

in vino veritas

Blending art & science....making wine!

Going, Going, Gone... Monday, August 27, 20180

Going, Going, Gone...

A retreating glacier may soon be gone.

Reversing both Desertification and Climate Change Saturday, August 25, 20180

Reversing both Desertification and Climate Change

A hopeful method for restoring degraded lands.

Cryovolcanoes Thursday, August 23, 20180

Cryovolcanoes

Chasing ice-volcanoes!

Secrets of Rare Plants Wednesday, August 22, 20180

Secrets of Rare Plants

They still offer important discoveries.

Ecology Lesson, 2 Monday, August 20, 20180

Ecology Lesson, 2

Permafrost and marine ecology are interconnected.

Ecology Lesson Saturday, August 18, 20180

Ecology Lesson

The consequences of deforestation.

Smoke Goes Global Friday, August 17, 20180

Smoke Goes Global

Satellites see forest fires on-high.

Sand Sea Wednesday, August 15, 20180

Sand Sea

Namibia's Skeleton Coast.

Why Science? Tuesday, August 14, 20180

Why Science?

Carl Sagan was interviewed about this.

Ring of Fire Sunday, August 12, 20180

Ring of Fire

15 year earthquake data visualized

CAL-Fires & Smoke Detection Friday, August 10, 20180

CAL-Fires & Smoke Detection

The Smoke Map