Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

"Drones Are Going to Change the Way We See the Animal World"

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Wednesday, March 5, 2014/Categories: natural history, video, marine mammals, environment

Drones are know for their military applications, as spy tools, and as new ways to potentially delivery packages. One of their unknown uses will be for non-invasive wildlife monitoring. A tour company in California  Captain Dave's Dolphin and Whale Watching Safari  employed a remotely controlled drone to capture footage of a marine mammals including a dolphin stampede.

According to Captain Dave: "the edited video was made using a drone hovering in the air above a huge mega-pod of thousands of common dolphins stampeding off Dana Point, California; three gray whales migrating together down the coast off San Clemente, California; and heartwarming close-ups over a newborn Humpback whale calf snuggling and playing with its mom as an escort whale stands guard nearby, filmed recently in Maui."

He continued: "drones are going to change the way we see the animal world".

Here's the amazing video:



WHB
Print

Number of views (7920)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses? Wednesday, August 7, 20190

Repurposing Abandoned Golf Courses?

Japan has an answer.

Talking Trees Tuesday, August 6, 20190

Talking Trees

Plants use sophisticated ways to communicate.

I will be a hummingbird Monday, August 5, 20190

I will be a hummingbird

The presence of Wangari Maathai.

Sulawesi Sunrise Sunday, August 4, 20190

Sulawesi Sunrise

A beautiful island seen from space.

Masters of Deception Friday, August 2, 20190

Masters of Deception

Creative octopus show their capabilities.

Meltdown Thursday, August 1, 20190

Meltdown

Ice melting in Greenland accelerates.

Chasing Ghosts Wednesday, July 31, 20190

Chasing Ghosts

Solving a botanical enigma.
Montana Summer Break Monday, July 29, 20190

Montana Summer Break

Visiting the Big Sky

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety Saturday, July 27, 20190

12 Steps to Climate Sobriety

A "12 Step" program to de-carbonize.

Europe Swelters Again Thursday, July 25, 20190

Europe Swelters Again

The "new normal" has arrived.

Rare Bird Re-discovered Wednesday, July 24, 20190

Rare Bird Re-discovered

A rare cloud forest bird found again.

Frankincense Tuesday, July 23, 20190

Frankincense

An ancient tree is dying.

Greenland on Fire....Again! Monday, July 22, 20190

Greenland on Fire....Again!

Fires above the Arctic Circle, again.

An Inspirational Journey Sunday, July 21, 20190

An Inspirational Journey

Jane Goodall on being mindful.

Apollo 11 by Moonlight Saturday, July 20, 20190

Apollo 11 by Moonlight

'One small step' 50 years ago and also a giant leap!

Falling Water Friday, July 19, 20190

Falling Water

Animating a waterfall.

Carl Safina: What are animals thinking? Thursday, July 18, 20190

Carl Safina: What are animals thinking?

A new perspective on animal intelligence.

The Habitable Zone Tuesday, July 16, 20190

The Habitable Zone

What's required for habitability?