Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Irony Alert: Plants Used in Herbal Remedies Cause Cancer

Author: Reilly Capps/Wednesday, August 14, 2013/Categories: Archive Pick of the Week

 

File:Aristolochia baetica a.JPG 
[Aristolochia baetica, one member of a cancer-causing genus long used in alternative medicine.]


By Reilly Capps

Sorry, Alanis Morissette, here is real, true, semi-hilarious irony:

Plants that have been used by Chinese medicine men for centuries as a natural way to cure arthritis and other disease actually cause cancer.

This is a great quote from an oncologist, from The Scientist:

“A lot of people in the lay public assume that if something is herbal or natural that it is necessarily healthy,” said Marc Ladanyi, an investigator in the human oncology and pathogenesis program at Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center in New York who was not involved in the studies. “But this work very clearly shows that this natural plant product is extremely genotoxic and carcinogenic.”

This alternative-medicine, plants from the aristolochia genus, causes more of a certain kind of mutation than smoking or sun exposure. Sun is natural. Plants are natural. But just because things are natural doesn't necessarily mean they're benign, just as things which are artificial are not necessarily harmful. You don't go around shoving pine needles into your eyeballs or drinking out of sulfur pools just because they're natural.

Nature isn't a pharmacy for humans. Half the time, it wants us dead.
Print

Number of views (5412)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Talking Trees Thursday, July 11, 20190

Talking Trees

Translating chemical ecology

River Restoration and the Market Wednesday, July 10, 20190

River Restoration and the Market

River restoration is both economically and ecologically important.
Bobbing Boulders Monday, July 8, 20190

Bobbing Boulders

Building landforms is a continuous process.

Plant Trees Sunday, July 7, 20190

Plant Trees

Planting tress as a climate change solution.

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics Friday, July 5, 20190

Fighting 'Superbugs' with Physics

Radiological research could have a solution.

On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.