Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

Grass-fed Meat Sequesters Carbon?

Grass-fed Meat Sequesters Carbon?

Author: Reilly Capps/Wednesday, July 3, 2013/Categories: Archive Pick of the Week

 

 

By Reilly Capps
It's possible that certain kinds of meat might not be quite so bad. Animals can be part of a climate solution. “If you’re eating grassland meat,” Michael Pollan told Slate, “yo

I've long called for a tax on meat as a way to reduce consumption. Like the carbon tax I prefer, it would be revenue neutral. 

But it's possible that certain kinds of meat might not be quite so bad. Animals can be part of a climate solution. 

“If you’re eating grassland meat,” Michael Pollan told Slate, “your carbon footprint is light and possibly even negative.”

 

 

“When you have a grassland, the plants living there convert the sun’s energy into leaf and root in roughly equal amounts. When the ruminant [e.g., a cow] comes along and grazes that grassland, it trims the height of the grass from, say, 3 feet tall to 3 inches tall. The plant responds to this change by seeking a new equilibrium: it kills off an amount of root mass equal to the amount of leaf and stem lost to grazing. The [discarded] root mass is then set upon by the nematodes, earthworms and other underground organisms, and they turn the carbon in the roots into soil. This is how all of the soil on earth has been created: from the bottom up, not the top down.”


A biologist named Allan Savory, in this fascinating TED talk, shows how bringing grazing animals to desert lands can bring back the plants. 



- Reilly Capps 

Print

Number of views (5837)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
On The Roof Of The World Wednesday, July 3, 20190

On The Roof Of The World

Airglow over Tibet.

Solving the Climate Crisis Tuesday, July 2, 20190

Solving the Climate Crisis

Elon Musk has some ideas.

The New North Monday, July 1, 20190

The New North

The fastest warming place.

Trees Before Rain Sunday, June 30, 20190

Trees Before Rain

Which came first?

Protecting Tapirs Friday, June 28, 20190

Protecting Tapirs

Tapirs face many threats.

Advice To A Young Scientist Thursday, June 27, 20190

Advice To A Young Scientist

We still need you!

The Methane Mystery Wednesday, June 26, 20190

The Methane Mystery

A mystery gas on Mars!

Advances in CO2 Capture Monday, June 24, 20190

Advances in CO2 Capture

Commercial CO2 capturre technology advances.

With The Eyes Of A Kid Saturday, June 22, 20190

With The Eyes Of A Kid

Serendipity happens if you pay attention.

Conservation of Giraffes Friday, June 21, 20190

Conservation of Giraffes

White giraffe as wildlife icon.

Vanishing Birds Thursday, June 20, 20190

Vanishing Birds

Hawaii's birds are declining fast.

Greenland Sea Ice Tuesday, June 18, 20190

Greenland Sea Ice

Dramatic melting image.

An Age of Wonder Sunday, June 16, 20190

An Age of Wonder

A CRISPR revolution is here.

Climbing Center Dedicated Friday, June 14, 20190

Climbing Center Dedicated

Khumbu Climbing Center opens.
Rocks at Rest Thursday, June 13, 20190

Rocks at Rest

Imagine being a rock.

Chasing Mars Tuesday, June 11, 20190

Chasing Mars

Sounds of Mars recorded.

A Very Large 'Dead Zone' Monday, June 10, 20190

A Very Large 'Dead Zone'

NOAA predictes hypoxia again.

Finland on Fire Sunday, June 9, 20190

Finland on Fire

Arctic temperature anomalies.