Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search

The natural world. Looking pretty for 3.5b years.

External to What?

An externality is a cost not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. It should be.

Author: Hugh Bollinger/Sunday, March 10, 2013/Categories: sustainability, environment, Archive Pick of the Week

Externalities are just that, external to an analysis or model. They shouldn't be.

An externality is a cost that is not transmitted through a product's price to a consumer. In the case of environmental externalities, effects such as air and water pollution, species extinction, and loss of soils, they are all negative. They are now becoming central to how best to control carbon pollution proactively and effectively.


Shi-Ling Hsu is an instructor at Florida State University and an expert in environmental and natural resource law, climate change, and economics. He has taken a big step forward with his book: The Case for a Carbon Tax in addressing the existential externality of carbon pollution and the lack of its proper pricing. In a post from his law school, Hsu summarizes the points he believes would move us forward to an:

Effective Climate Policy, The Case for a Carbon Tax




Economics and product pricing models may not be at the top of your reading list but you should be interested in their external affects on environmental sustainability.

WHB
Print

Number of views (7451)/Comments (0)

Please login or register to post comments.

Name:
Email:
Subject:
Message:
x
Photography's Silent Drama Friday, February 8, 20190

Photography's Silent Drama

Sebastiao Salgado

Billion Dollar Disasters Wednesday, February 6, 20190

Billion Dollar Disasters

Extreme weather events are multiplying.

Earth's Driest Place Tuesday, February 5, 20190

Earth's Driest Place

The Atacama as Mars analog.

Risk Independence Sunday, February 3, 20190

Risk Independence

The new frontiers of Sundance storytelling.

Polar Extremes Friday, February 1, 20190

Polar Extremes

Bi-polar disorders.

Nepal Reflections Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Nepal Reflections

Remembrances from Nepal

Visualizing Climate Data Wednesday, January 30, 20190

Visualizing Climate Data

NASA & NOAA use illustration tools.

A Polar Vortex Descends Tuesday, January 29, 20190

A Polar Vortex Descends

Another extreme weather event.

Arctic Greening Monday, January 28, 20190

Arctic Greening

The Arctic is greening, and fast.

Melting Tundra Sunday, January 27, 20190

Melting Tundra

Permafrost can explode.

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains Friday, January 25, 20190

Launching Rocks, Building Mountains

Traveling by bus can be hazardous.

"The Garden of Eden Is No More" Wednesday, January 23, 20190

"The Garden of Eden Is No More"

David Attenborough interviewed at Davos forum.

Look & See Tuesday, January 22, 20190

Look & See

A Portrait of Wendell Berry.

The Power of Empathy Monday, January 21, 20190

The Power of Empathy

Animating empathy.
Archaeology from Space Sunday, January 20, 20190

Archaeology from Space

Rmote-sensing for finding lost cities.

George the Poet on Climate Change Saturday, January 19, 20190

George the Poet on Climate Change

A poet takes on climate change.

Poseidon is Watching Thursday, January 17, 20190

Poseidon is Watching

Poseidon watches his domain.

Interactive Earth Wednesday, January 16, 20190

Interactive Earth

Mapping planetary changes.